We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok not more”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cha! Cha! Cha!

Cha! Cha! Cha!
Ranked #767 of 4,252 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Pearl
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
337 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Ok not more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We went there for dinner and it was ok but not more. We had tortillas and enchiladas. The enchiladas were good, the tortillas were just average. The black beans were disgusting.
We thought that the place was kind of filthy but the waitress was friendly.

Helpful?
Thank KristinMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    34
    19
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stopped here for a quick bite to eat. The service was lacking and not very friendly, there was a girl standing there looking mean, the table outside was dirty and I asked to use the cleaning rag to clean the table she got an attitude with me and went and cleaned the table for us. The food was decent I wa a little suprised at the small guacamole we got for 4.50.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LLJ625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Interesting food, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stopped by Cha late on a Friday night, and we were fairly pleased with the experience. It was quiet when we got there (around 9pm or so), mostly families dining at that time. Service was very friendly, but the server didn't seem that familiar with the menu - he kept saying it had just changed. We ended up trying something unique to us, which was huitlacoche quesadillas. Huitlacoche is referred to as Mexican truffles by some (and described as such on the menu), but if you order it, you should realize it's really a corn fungus (farmers in the U.S. view it as a blight). It doesn't taste much like mushrooms at all, but if you want to try something different, this is definitely it. I think we'll skip it next time!

We also had a nightly special, which was seafood enchiladas (fish and shrimp). It was pretty good, but was covered in a creamy sauce that didn't have too much flavor.

Even the chips and salsa were a little disappointing - the salsa was not the standard tomato salsa - it was very earthy tasting, perhaps with more red peppers than tomatoes. It just didn't have the fresh pop of salsa that I enjoy.

Based on the friendly service, I'll give this a 4-star rating, but the food, well, it wasn't the best Mexican we've had. I think part of the issue is that the chef is going for a very authentic Mexican cuisine. Having recently been to Merida, the capital of the Yucatan, I can vouch for the fact that the food did remind me of what is served there, but I'll also admit that it didn't appeal to my American palate, either at Cha or in the Yucatan. If you're up for something different from typical Tex-Mex, though, you'll find it here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank termie_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Valley, Oregon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hmmm...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The wife and I popped into the downtown Milwaukie location at 1:30 on a Friday afternoon and it was maybe 1/3 full.

Like a lot of Portland restaurants these days, CCC has to be a little bit different. The experience is more like fast food, where you order up front and pay before you eat, then they give you a number and bring the food out to the table. You also need to grab your own utensils and water if you want it, and unlike most Mexican places, chips and salsa are not a free starter, but will instead set you back close to $3.00.

That being said, the food is a cut above most neighborhood Mexican places in terms of freshness and taste. The wife had cheese enchiladas and I had pork tamales, both came with rice and beans. Including a couple of soft drinks, the total bill was a little over $20, not bad for lunch for two.

The only other knock was the music was really loud, making it hard for us to converse normally.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Mexican!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Cute place our hotel Econo Lodge recommended in Milwaukie Downtown. Not fancy but great tasty Mexican food...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cha! Cha! Cha! also viewed

 

Been to Cha! Cha! Cha!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing