We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but a great bar”
Review of Red Star Tavern

Red Star Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Star Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #121 of 4,812 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th Ave.
Transit: Transit stop directly in front of the restaurant on SW 5th and Alder
Description: Red Star Tavern has true tavern character and tasty food. Experience the timeless tradition of a true tavern in downtown Portland.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stopped in for drinks and ended up having dinner. Great bar and the food was good. The pouched shrimp was a great appetizer and the Halibut ( fish of the day). Was very good. But if you are looking for a great bar for drinks you can’t go wrong here

Thank Biztravr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleighG232, Manager at Red Star Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us such a kind review! I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your food while in and awesome drinks never hurt either, ha! We look forward to serving you again in the future.
-Ashleigh Gall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2018

Almost with regret, we ordered room service, too tired to go out. That was one of the best cheeseburgers that I have ever had. And the fries were fantastic (and hot). And even the pickled veggies were great. Everything worked really well together--clearly well-thought out by the chef. The peach cobbler was pretty good, not quite at the same level as the rest of the meal. But overall, one of the best room services meals that I have ever had.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ProfLonghair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh G, Manager at Red Star Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review based on your In Room Dining experience. We seldom receive feedback online regarding this so it is lovely to hear that your experience was so pleasant. We strive to ensure that our In Room Dining experiences are of equal quality and receive the same level of importance that our guests dining in the restaurant receive. I will pass this feedback along to our chef, Dolan Lane, as well as to our service staff on a job well done.
Thank you again,
-Ashleigh Gall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

First we went to a $15 a drink happy hour on top of some hotel. Ran out of there and found this gem Drinks were strong good a 6 - 7 bucks. Got great fries and wings on happy hour menu for 8 bucks total. If your downtown this is your best option for drinks. Its clean and affordable at happy hour till 6 pm.

Thank musicofcourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh G, Manager at Red Star Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Thank you very much for your warm review of your recent experience here at Red Star Tavern. I'm thrilled to hear that Red Star could be a bit of an oasis for you while downtown. Our happy hour is pretty amazing with prices that surly make me happy!
Thank you again for your feedback and we greatly look forward to serving you again soon,
-Ashleigh Gall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Had lunch yesterday of a burger and fries. I found it to be a very average burger for $17. My wife had the Caesar salad at near the same price. It also wasn't worth writing home about. However, the server was very good. No fault there.

Thank JohnL9916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh G, Manager at Red Star Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Thank you John for providing a review of your recent experience at Red Star Tavern. While I'm thrilled to hear that you and your wife enjoyed the level of personal service that you received I am also saddened to hear that your meals fell short. We take pride in providing fresh and local ingredients to deliver fantastic cuisine; however, it sounds like we missed this mark for you. I will alert chef of this to ensure that this is not an ongoing issue.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
-Ashleigh Gall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

In trying to reach a high-end crowd, Red Star comes across as overly fussy and pretentious. The food is good but not great, the service is polite but disingaged. It's not a bad place, if you happen to be in the neighborhood. But not anything I'd go out of my way to visit.

Thank Joann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh G, Manager at Red Star Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Thank you Joann for your review. We at Red Star Tavern truly appreciate any feedback so that we can continually be growing with our guests, just like you! We strive to make each guest experience not only positive, but memorable and it sounds like we missed the mark for you on that. Please stop by the next time you are in the neighborhood and let's see if we can upstage ourselves from the last time you were here.

Thanks so much again for your feedback and we greatly look forward to serving you again in the future,
-Ashleigh Gall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Star Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Red Star Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing