We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent neighborhood bakery in the French Style”
Review of St Honore Bakery

St Honore Bakery
Ranked #4 of 70 Bakeries in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Neighbourhood: Northwest District
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent neighborhood bakery in the French Style”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Always wondered what boulangerie is all about? Miss Parisian style bakery items and cafe? Enjoyed an excellent croissant style bakery item this morning with coffee. Though a tad more expensive than some bakeries in town, the quality and atmosphere make up for it. There are some typical baked items; variations on French croissants and breads and specialty bake items, quiches and such. I highly recommend seeking them out for a taste of French boulangerie

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elgreco251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    103
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
1,170 reviews
596 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Great selection of French bakery items in a European atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is the second year that my wife and I have visited our daughter in Portland and stayed in the NW District. We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express so much last year that we stayed there again on this most recent trip. It is just a block away from St. Honore and three blocks from Besaws, our favorite breakfast places.

On our visits to St. Honore we had Pain Au Chocolat and Normandy Apple Toast for our breakfast pastries with their wonderful coffee. We took away sandwiches one day when we drove up the Columbia River Gorge and had a picnic at Rooster Rock State Park (on the west end not the east end that has the nudist beach).

Our sandwiches were the Rillette Et Roti De Porc in a rustic roll with braised pork shoulder with fennel, cranberries, honey Dijon glazed pork roast and apple slaw and the Jambon Parisien with baguette bread, Dijon mustard butter, black forest ham, emmental cheese, cornichions and lettuce. The sandwiches were delicious on the banks of the Columbia River.

On the last day of our trip we went to St. Honore and got a Gateau Au Chocolate and a Gateau Orange Et Gingembre to eat on our flight home. This is the best French bakery I have ever visited. If it was closer to home where I could visit it multiple times a week I would probably weigh twenty pounds more than I do, but it is a great place to indulge yourself once a year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Razorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great french pastry!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We were there for early lunch 11:30 on a Tuesday. Not too busy. Indian lentil soup very good, nicoise salad great and duck salad good. The atmosphere is not really friendly even thought they claim it in their menu, but the quality of food is there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You'll think you're in France”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Wasn't it just the other day that SE Division St. in Portland was a dowdy, down-at-heels strip with a couple of coffee shops and an "adult" theater? Time to wake up and smell the coffee - literally. The street abounds with fine restaurants, bars, coffee roasters/shops and at least two outstanding bakeries. And one of those is the wonderful Saint Honore.

The croissants are to die for. You won't find a better one anywhere. All of the pastries are first rate. My personal favorite is the raisin bun that comes in a small or regular sized portion. All the food is excellent and it's a great drop-in spot for a steaming bowl of soup with bread at lunch or a delicious sandwich. Drop in at the end of the work day for perhaps a focaccia strewn with veggies and cheese, and a glass of wine.

The ambience is low key and friendly and the artisan breads are as delicious as they look. Saint Honore is also a terrific place to meet a friends for afternoon tea or coffee, when the lunch crowd has gone and before the supper people arrive. Give it a try and you'll soon be a regular.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laurgam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“European feel”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Loved the chance to buy straight from the bakery since I live in south central Missouri and have to drive MILES for chances like this. Service was good and pastries were very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plgetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Honore Bakery also viewed

 

Been to St Honore Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing