We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“came for coffee stayed for dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Honore Bakery

St Honore Bakery
Ranked #4 of 80 Bakeries in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Northwest District
Pollock Pines, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“came for coffee stayed for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The amazing French pastries pulled us in. So, we had coffee and an afternoon snack. The friends began showing up, and a violinist began playing, and we ended up having dinner. We had French Onion Soup, it was perfect, Salade du Chef, like a Chef Salad would be in heaven, Croque Monsiour, great, and a vegetable quiche, great crust, perfectly seasoned. The bread accompanying the meal was so very good, crusty crust and soft inside. The owner-chef was named the best baker in France (!!!) so get yourself to St Honore and enjoy was he's doing in Portland. Oh yeah... great cider selection, and the house wine was a very good French Red.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GaelB241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    98
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Breakfast or lunch is always a treat. The bakery serves delicious authentic French baked meals It's fun to sit and watch them put goods to be baked into their specially designed oven. Light, flakey baked goods and subtle French sauces and sweets.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarynBurnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fill your sweet tooth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

What a delightful bakery. Baked fresh on site with a large selection of French traditional baked and cafe foods. Our biggest problem is always taking home too much. Breads are well done and the couchet(sp?) small baked pastry purchased by the bag full are a must, Get there early for the best taste, Take several times what you think you'll need because you'll never be able to eat just one or 6 or 12. Sandwiches and soups are delicious. Being a kidney transplant (12.5 years and going strong) patient received from my son) this is quite close to the Good Samaratian Hospital so it's a great excuse to stop coming and going. I always love to bribe the staff ; -)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Was told this is a must stop spot when we came into town.It was fabulous! My sweetie and I enjoyed everything about it.Now it is part of our Portland routine when we come into town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brianna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hell, Michigan
Level Contributor
822 reviews
449 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 572 helpful votes
“Chocolate croissants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stopped in and got a couple of chocolate croissants right before they closed for the night and they were awesome! The other pastries in the case looked good and I definitely would like to have an actual meal here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Honore Bakery also viewed

 

Been to St Honore Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing