We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So small a restaurant, with so GREAT food!!”

CHA CHA CHA Mexican Taqueria
Ranked #2,580 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“So small a restaurant, with so GREAT food!!”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Super tasty, really-realy great food! super fresh, and do try the white coconut-cinnamon-soft drink!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jungle_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
143 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Going down hill fast!”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This used to be a good (not great) restaurant for fairly good Mexican fare. Now it has become a fair to bad restaurant for tasteless, boring Mexican food. We have been to all locations and it appears to be a problem that exists with every one of them. Most of the time the service is slow and the food comes out cold. The newest location on Lombard is the worst. The kitchen staff actually stuck their fingers into our food when we sent it back because it was cold, then put it in the microwave, and tried to send it out to us. The customers at the table next to us witnessed this as well as us and commented. GROSS!!!
Good Mexican restaurants are a dime a dozen. Do yourself a favor, go to a restaurant that is at least trying to make your dining experience enjoyable.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PDX_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food for cheap!”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

its a great place to go for healthy fast food. Its family friendly too.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crileyteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful chicken tortilla soup”
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We were first attracted by the colorful exterior of this restaurant - it's bright turquoise - but we're definitely planning to go back for the food. We tried the carnitas tacos and the chicken tortilla soup. The carnitas was very flavorful, and came with an abundance of cilantro and onion on extremely fresh tortillas. The tortilla soup,which is also available without chicken, was some of the best we've ever had. The seasoning is just right, and the balance of the chicken, broth, tortillas, cheese, and avocado is perfect.

If you're at all picky about iced tea, do NOT order it here. There was a distinctly odd taste too it, as if maybe it had sat for several days. There are many other beverages to choose, along with self-service ice water.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Syd18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland,ore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HELLO WASHING HANDS?? NO COMPREDE??!!"”
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Our company has been going off n on to this CHA CHA CHA, and we will never ever give them another chance again!! Waitress's hair long not pulled back (found long black hair in food) while our order was being prepared she sat and ate her lunch, but when our order was up....she stuffed another bite in her mouth then grapped our food,..."WITHOUT WASHING HER HANDS!!" Their prices have shot way up since the opening and the food quality and portions have dropped in half! My opinion and the opinion of our office staff give this CHA CHA CHA'S WAY THUMPS DOWN DO NOT EAT THERE!!! To top if off our food is COLD everytime we have gone there. Oh well live and learn we will spend our hard earned money elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank farnout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CHA CHA CHA Mexican Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to CHA CHA CHA Mexican Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing