We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cha Cha Cha on Lombard” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CHA CHA CHA Mexican Taqueria

CHA CHA CHA Mexican Taqueria
Ranked #2,532 of 4,238 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cha Cha Cha on Lombard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Being from California I am pretty picky when it comes to Mexican or TexMex food. This is not fast food. I really liked the chips and salsa, here, which came to the table quickly. This restaurant is accommodating to children, and everyones dish looked yummy. Wait staff was attentive even though it was busy.I thought it was reasonably priced. i would dine there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PTDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
144 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Getting worse!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

After a less than stellar experience, we thought we would give Cha Cha Cha on Lombard one more chance. Sorry we did.
The wait staff has gotten worse. The food remains unimaginative and, on this visit, lacked most if not all flavor. We ordered the happy hour Happy Mama Enchilada and it was not much more than a luke warm enchilada with some cold avocados and sour cream plopped on top.
The funny thing about their "happy hour" is it is not much of a happy hour at all. THe happy hour menu items are only $1 off the regular menu items and they are a fraction of the size.
I think this Cha Cha Cha has outlived it's welcome in North Portland and it time to get a new. and better, restaurant in it's place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PDX_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“So small a restaurant, with so GREAT food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Super tasty, really-realy great food! super fresh, and do try the white coconut-cinnamon-soft drink!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jungle_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
144 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Going down hill fast!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This used to be a good (not great) restaurant for fairly good Mexican fare. Now it has become a fair to bad restaurant for tasteless, boring Mexican food. We have been to all locations and it appears to be a problem that exists with every one of them. Most of the time the service is slow and the food comes out cold. The newest location on Lombard is the worst. The kitchen staff actually stuck their fingers into our food when we sent it back because it was cold, then put it in the microwave, and tried to send it out to us. The customers at the table next to us witnessed this as well as us and commented. GROSS!!!
Good Mexican restaurants are a dime a dozen. Do yourself a favor, go to a restaurant that is at least trying to make your dining experience enjoyable.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PDX_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food for cheap!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

its a great place to go for healthy fast food. Its family friendly too.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crileyteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CHA CHA CHA Mexican Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to CHA CHA CHA Mexican Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing