We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THIS GREAT RESTAURANT CLOSED FOR GOOD.”
Review of Plainfield's Mayur Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Plainfield's Mayur Restaurant
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: SW Taylor
Transit: Located one block south of Burnside allows easy bus access. We are near the Max stop at PGE Park.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
360 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“THIS GREAT RESTAURANT CLOSED FOR GOOD.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I loved the place. It was a little bit off the beaten track. Not enough people patronized the place to keep it alive more than 20 or 30 years. The property was recently closed to an adjoining athletic club. The restaurant closed for good in June, 2013.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
131 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing Indian Food and Unique”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This is an expensive night out, but the food is unbelievable. The menu is very unique. This is not typical Indian food, but more of an Indian Fusion style of cooking. The chef is the key here. His attention to seasonings and his presentation make the occasional meal here quite a celebration.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank radar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not family friendly”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Indian food is my all time favorite. But this place was over priced, stuffy, and not family friendly. I also didn't like the feel of the place. Not comfortable

Helpful?
Thank Seiche123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cream-of-the-Crop Indian Food”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I count Plainfield's Mayur among the best Indian restaurants I've dined at in both the U.S. and London. I've eaten there on two separate trips with two separate sets of friends, and both times the food was wow-worthy. (It comes at a steep price, however.) The surroundings are elegant and well suited to a celebratory or romantic dinner, but I wish they were more authentic -- the aesthetic is largely European rather than Indian, which is a bit of a disappointment -- it feels a little...imperialistic. That being said, the quality of the food keeps us coming back for more.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silverlining_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaverton oregon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“1 hour wait for tasteless food!”
Reviewed 6 March 2011

The food has no spice or indian flavors! we had Pastry Filled with Potatoes(Samosa) and Crispy Lentil Wafers(Papadums) the samosas really deep fried and no flavor the papadums where great if only we had some type of sauce to go with them! Four our entree's I had he Seasonal Vegetables in Velvet Sauce (Bhaji) which was more of a broth with veggies, my boyfriend had Spice Coated Crispy Halibut (Bombay Machi) and the fish was mushy and feel apart while trying to eat it! After waiting an hour for our food we skipped dessert! The location and inside decor is beautiful! We will not be returning to this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank playgirl_wannaplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plainfield's Mayur Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing