We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would try again”

Zell's - An American Cafe
Ranked #163 of 4,249 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Would try again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Had breakfast and it was a bit complicated. Nice place, friendly staff with good service. We ordered the German pancake and Rueben scramble and while they were both done well, turned out that neither really hit the great dish category. Willing to admit that the error was in our ordering since not everyone is supposed to like everything on a menu. Will definitely try again when we are in town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank King A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    37
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellence in Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The atmosphere of this place is a classic breakfast cafe, and I'm so glad we made it there. I had the corned beef hash and my wife had gluten free pancakes. Both were excellent. The hash was definitely home made and not the canned stuff, and it was very well seasoned. My wife's pancakes were great and the syrup was the real stuff. Throw in free scones (plus gluten-free muffins) and good people watching, and we were very happy to have found it. There were so many options, we wanted to come back for more.

Be aware that gf food is only on the weekends (or holidays, as was the case for us) when it supplants oatmeal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank turbidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Portland!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I ent to Zell's after seeing it was so highly rated on tripadvisor. The food is fabulous!! The omelettes and eggs benedict were yummy as were the scones and rye toast! The restaurant was full when we got there so Nancy (the owner) set up a table for 4 on the sidewalk outside which they normally only do on Sundays! She didn't want us to have to wait 1/2 hour for a table inside since she had just had a crowd rush about 10 minutes before we got there! The service is very good and very friendly. I look forward to returning here later this week!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BestTaxLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Croix Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
165 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“so good we did it twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had seen this place on food network and had never been so we crossed the river for breakfast on a Sunday. We waited outside where coffee was provided in a self service urn and fat pieces of coloured chalk were available to write or draw on the side walk. When we got inside there was a menu and a specials board and the food was super. most fun of all was to watch the amazing teamwork of the staff clearing and resetting tables so the folks waiting to get in wouldn't wait longer than necessary.
Mom wanted to stop for breakfast Monday on the way to the airport. The food was just as good but the show was not needed because there were no crowds.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank virginislander_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our family's favorite breakfast place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our family LOVES Zell's!!! We have enjoyed many a breakfast here and are always 100% satisfied. The wait staff is super friendly, and we love the little scones with jam that are complimentary. One of our most favorite things is that the iced coffee has coffee ice cubes. No watered down coffee! The omelets are cooked perfectly with lots of options for fillings. We also love that you can order a side of veggies instead of potatoes and bread. We have had a few 15-20 minute waits here on the weekend, but when we arrive before 8:30 am, we usually get seated right away. If your family needs a new "go-to" breakfast place, go to Zells.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zell's - An American Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Zell's - An American Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing