We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Mint has a good atmosphere...a great drink menu! But just okay Small servings for food. Not a inexpensive place!”
Review of Mint

Mint
Ranked #1,869 of 4,270 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: Bar, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
142 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The Mint has a good atmosphere...a great drink menu! But just okay Small servings for food. Not a inexpensive place!”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

The Mint has a good atmosphere... But just okay Small servings for food. I took a party of four to dinner before the Fleetwood Mac concert in July. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the service was good... But the small portions and what they charge for just okay food and drinks seemed darn expensive. They do have a great drink menu and if that is what your looking for... This is the place for you!! ENJOY WEST-MORRY

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank West-Morry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Tucked away in an industrial area of Portland, this spot is worth finding. They have a wide array of interesting cocktails. While the drinks are a little pricey, that is because of the ingredients that are put in the cocktails. These aren't HRD vodka and off brand soda. These are hand crafted cocktails using call alcohol, a variety of juices and many different purees, all which will increase prices.
The food is very good. We ordered the crab cakes which were probably the best I ever had. They were very large, tons of crab and delightfully crispy. We also ordered the scallops which were great as well. Again, very large and set in a wonderful sauce. Finally we ordered the hummus, which was okay, not great. But I am a bit of a hummus snob. The olive tapenade which comes with it, was a nice change from the traditional hummus plate.
Our server was fantastic. She was warm, accommodating, and efficient. The bartender was great as well, putting a great effort in serving a quality cocktail. Which given the drink list, takes a bartender who has a passion for their job, to do.
The only drawback that I had was the ambience and décor. While I liked the exposed brick walls, everything else was black. Already set in a less than lovely part of town, it just made it feel even darker and colder, and a bit grungy. But then again, some people like that.
All in all, definitely worth a visit, especially if you are a fan of crab cakes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twix0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We were lucky to find our way to this terrific little place. The atmosphere was lovely. The food was delicious and the vibe was great. Would love to return for more meals in the future.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seattle_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
123 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Mediocre!”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I came to this place for a Crossfit happy hour since it is right across the box we workout in. The cocktails were decent BUT not really at what I would call happy hour price - 6.50 for a mojito sounds more like the normal price so I definitely will not step foot in here for normal cocktail price time. Actually, I doubt I'll ever go back. The food was terrible!!! My goodness, you people in Portland really need to get out more...you give the most mediorcre places stellar reviews! The lamb burger didn't taste like much of anything, sweet potato fries were okay and the "spicy" ceaser was laughable. I literally laughed for a minute. It took them 35 minutes to produce this dish and it was a joke. Two uncut pieces of Romaine lettuce, sparkled with Parmesan cheese and a piece of toast on the side...bravo chef! Thinking about it makes me chuckle...and boy, the whole spicy thing is terribly misleading. And by the way, each plate takes 35 minutes to produce and so do the drinks...haha...what a place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vyakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good happy hour, mediocre service”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Went here for the Wednesday "all day" happy hour. The patio was nice, the indoors was pretty vacant. The prices were okay, the service was fair (first time I ever sent a beer back for being too warm in the bottle), the food was good (ESP lamb burger and sweet potato fries) and the location was easy to get to, just not the easiet to find parking at.

Helpful?
Thank SteveTheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing