We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat there every time I am in Portland!”
Review of Byways Cafe

Byways Cafe
Ranked #62 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Pearl
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Eat there every time I am in Portland!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This place is funky and walks the line of being tacky which makes it one of my favourite brunch spots. Food is fantastic, great service...all in all gets a 10/10 from me! Was reviewed on DDI from the food channel and also got his vote. Try the house specials...the infused french toast is to die for. You will not be disappointed! Only complaint is the line up and it can get a bit loud as it it small and packed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rdrambuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    72
    19
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
274 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fun Old-Fashioned Diner in the Pearl District”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We ate here for lunch just walking by and tried it. So glad we did. Loved the decor, felt like we walking back in time, think 1950s. Nice lunch selection for all different palates to try. I had the "Sonoma," a lovely looking and great tasting chicken salad. My friend had a chicken sandwich, which she tasted wonderful. Large portions, great wait staff. Definitely coming back again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well done!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

My corned beef was served with a scrumptious horseradish spread, & potato salad with bacon is just cheating. Turkey,bacon,avocado also yummy. Side green salad was a delightful surprise; big and fresh! I appreciate the cleanliness too.

Helpful?
Thank Judith95008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem....maybe I shouldn't write this....”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our first morning in Portland, we went to the Byways Cafe based on TA reviews. We walked in and were seated right away. Our server was friendly, I think his name was Chip. The place had a warm neighborhood feeling and I could see how this place would be someone's regular breakfast and or lunch spot. It's decorated with vintage decorative state plates and old license plates. We both had egg dishes which were very yummy and filing. I ordered the biscuit instead of toast and it was amazing! It's located in the area called The Pearl....and this is a gem.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RidleyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great diner”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We just happened upon Byways Cafe when searching for a breakfast spot on our last morning in Portland. What a great find!! Everything was extremely fresh, the coffee was excellent, they had gluten free bread for gluten free me and the service was quick and very friendly. This is a must for a quick, delicious breakfast.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank madameK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Byways Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Byways Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing