We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as great as my last visit”

McMenamins Kennedy School
Ranked #84 of 4,320 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Just as great as my last visit”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for a brew & bite as I had been absent from Portland for roughly 15 months due to job territory changes, but I'm back!! Any McMenamins pub is good in my book, but Kennedy School has a lot of character having been previous a public school.

Beer(brewed in-company) & simple food menu is just the way I left it - awesome! I've had about every item on the food menu - can't go wrong, but I'm pretty partial to their IPA and relatively sure all their beers are just as good!

Check them out!

Helpful?
Thank PirateEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    142
    49
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent and interesting”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Kennedy School was once an old school that fell into disrepair and was eventually converted to 5 restaurants and a movie theatre. There is also a hotel on site which we understand from friends is a wonderful stay.

Dinner was great, the staff were attentive, prices were reasonable and everyone is felt welcome. Check this place out, it is very interesting!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GinGer123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Building/Average Pub Food”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Went to McMenamins Kennedy School with a group of friends while on a recent trip to Portland, OR. The building is a great place to explore, lots of little details to look at. We ate in the main dining room area, and really loved the room. The food, however, was just average. The menu was enticing, but the fries were a little soggy, and the main courses left more to be desired. They didn't have the pizazz that the menu seemed to inspire. Our waiter was friendly, and overall it wasn't a horrible time. It was just average.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noxiousburrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's good every time!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I used to live in Portland/Salem and was never disappointed with "McMins". I've been back a few times over the years and it's still a great place to stay, and eat!
You can't go wrong with their classic burger and fries.
The atmosphere is wonderful. It's a great place to just wander around and check out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Its a series of bars and rooms of fancy the size of a school”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

They got a couple bars, a cinema, a casual restaurant, its just goes on and on. Excellent lunch offerings and a kick-@ss beer selection.

I want to stay in one of their rooms and soak in the huge outdoor hot tub.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank koolkookaburra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McMenamins Kennedy School also viewed

 

Been to McMenamins Kennedy School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing