We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food and service!”

Caro Amico Italian Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Caro Amico Italian Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #532 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: US$20 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible food and service!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The waiter acted quickly when I told him my husband's blood sugar was low. He was very attentive. The food choices are so yummy! Nice view and outside seating too. Prices are very reasonable. Wait staff so friendly, just like old friends! You just can't go wrong eating here. Next time we want to try the pizza, You can choose everything and anything you want on it!! Highly recommend to everyone, anytime!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Misseastcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The first time we tried Caro Amico I did not enjoy the visit. I don't remember why, other than thinking perhaps it was because we were in our 20s and this is not a lively spot. So we waited a few decades and returned to realize we've been missing out on a fantastic restaurant for years!

Caro Amico has become a go-to restaurant for us and we visit once or twice a month. Nestled in the Southwest outskirts of Portland, it sits on the side of the hill looking out over the Willamette river with a view of the OHSU gondolas sliding up and down the mountain.

The building looks old because it is. It has also gained a lot of life experience on the inside. There are two levels of dining. The parking lot is behind the building and a flight of stairs delivers you to the first level where a nice dining room lies on the left and a bar with counter seating as well as about five booths lie to the right. The same food is served in either location; the bar is very dimly lit while the dining room is better lit. The booths in the dining area are just a hair too small and I find the seats too close to the table for comfort, but the view from the window booths is stunning. There are additional tables in the middle of the room which are often combined for large parties. The second floor is laid out similar to the first floor, but the second floor is opened only when the first floor is full, or so it seems. In addition, when weather allows there is outdoor deck seating outside the first floor and it is very nice with all tables looking over the Willamette river.

The food is wonderful. Pizza is often our choice and the house blends are excellent; obviously guests are given the option of their own toppings and we've often gone this route. They deliver one of the finest house salads I can think of, and their bread is a treat. Meals too are fabulous, as are the many appetizers. They always offer a wine special and its never failed to deliver. The beer on tap change, there are always great offerings. Pricing is about $20; $20 for a meal or $20 for a pizza. Apps, $7-$15; salad $8. Not cheap, but also not too expensive; and if you are feeding a family pizza is in line with just about any.

The service is wonderful too. The manager is typically greeting and welcoming guests as well as checking in and wishing them good-nights. Many of the servers are long time employees and turnover seems low here; people change over here, but it is not frequent which is a good sign.

If you are looking for something new in Portland, or something old in Portland, you might consider checking out Caro Amico!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swim54low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloha, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great pizza and view with outdoor seating, overlooking the river and Mt. Hood is visible on clear days.”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This is a nice, casual restaurant with reasonable prices and good Italian food. We go there often. The owner will almost always come by your table. The pizza is great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love this little bit of old fashioned dining”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We go here a lot mostly because its close and we like the atmosphere. It is expensive and the pasta dishes are fine. The thin crust pizza is good. the blue cheese dressing on the dinner salad is something I crave.
We like the make your own pasta choices of mix and match.
Lately if we don't sit in the bar-which has a really good bartender who makes our meal service perfect- the service has been below average. I don't know if the yoiung women are just not well trained or if it is a dining room attitude problem, but this recent visit and one a few months ago were below average in service. They are standing around talking loudly and don't pay good attention to the diners. It's too bad. Eat in the bar when you go!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1shadeaufax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Pizza We've Found!”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We live within walking distance and tried Caro Amico some time back. One night we decided to try their pizza and now we return again and again for the Viking.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darqmiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caro Amico Italian Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Caro Amico Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing