We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable experience”
Review of Newport Seafood Grill - CLOSED

Newport Seafood Grill
Price range: US$16 - US$16
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Friends recommended we try this place based on their experience. We enjoyed a wonderful lunch, on a particularly lovely day.

The wait staff was attentive and helpful, suggesting items and we were able to have our pick of outside areas from which to watch the activity on the river.

I think you'd enjoy your experience too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Discerningwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Newport Seafood Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Discerningwon,

Thank you for the kind words and review. Happy to hear you had a great lunch. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to serving you again soon.

Cheers - The NSG Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had two wonderful visits to this unique establishment this September. Our first time we climbed the stairs to the bar and found a window seat for the Happy Hour. We had some wine and I had a cheeseburger with fries. The food was fine, the wait staff exceptional. The sunny day was perfect.

Our next visit was a drizzley to soft rainy day. We sat out on the covered deck and the overhead heater was turned on for my chilly partner. Our server graciously brought our drinks and food out to us. We were the only ones braving the outdoors and enjoyed seeing boats of all kinds; kayaks, huge barges of gravel pushed by tug boats, yachts of various sizes, and paddle boats. We had wonderful food; a succulent salad topped with freshly grilled chicken for me, poached halibut and steamed veggies for my partner. A coffee and a coffee drink, a shared dessert of strawberry shortcake finished our lovely meal.

The only complaint we have is that this wonderful spot is closing for the winter on Sept. 30th!!

1  Thank skye_zeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Newport Seafood Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

skye_zeph

Thank you for the kind words and thoughtful review. Happy to hear you enjoyed your visits! We look forward to seeing you next season.

Cheers - The Newport Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

It truly floats. Small side patio great. Service fabulous. Order steelhead expecting trout. Surprised it is more like salmon, which I hate. Server took plate and brought me a completely new dish - fish and chips- no charge. Wow. That is the kind of service that warrants another visit. Fish and chips delicious. I recommend a stop here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Newport Seafood Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

margarita0708,

Thank you for your review and feedback. Happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Newport Bay!

Cheers - The NSG Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

What a perfect setting for a light early Sunday dinner. We were impressed by the lovely views on the floating patio (restaurant truly floats and may not be for anyone who might be prone to sea sickness) as we watched boats come and go. Our server was extremely friendly and knowledgeable and we all ended up ordering the fish tacos. They were FULL of flavor and generous portions of different kinds of fish (including salmon). The interior of the restaurant was just as inviting and we would definitely give a thumbs up to this unique setting with views of the Portland skyline, the beautiful Williamette River and its many bridges!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This restaurant is on the water like a barge. The food was good and it was a nice experience looking out on water and boats.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newport Seafood Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing