We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the wait”
Review of Voodoo Doughnut

Voodoo Doughnut
Ranked #2 of 80 Bakeries in Portland
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the wait”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My first and last visit to Voo Doo was this morning. My kids rave about it, and I thought it would be fun to take a dozen to a meeting I needed to be at in Vancouver at 8:00. I entered the store at 7:25, knowing I would need 15 minutes to get to my destination. Horrified at the "Cash Only" sign, I checked my wallet - and only had $10. The line was long enough that I couldn't see how much a dozen donuts cost - so I got out of line to look - only to lose my place. 15 minutes later, I left, upset that only 3 people had been helped in that time. The poor girl at the counter was doing her best - but there were a bunch of hippies moving quite slowly in the back, and one sitting on the curb in the parking lot taking a break. One man in a black shirt and black beard, who looked like he hadn't showered in a few days - let alone possibly serving food - moved so slowly, he must have had lead in his shoes. One other person (a woman) went back and forth from the kitchen. Nobody bothered to notice there was a line of people waiting to be helped. You obviously don't need my business, and believe me, you'll never get it. Send your people to customer service training.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuh_mater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,353
    1,759
    1,258
    322
    149
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Strange, but a must”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I actually visited Voo Doo Doughnut Too, which is their second location. Their employees are pretty eccentric and the store's decor is equally off the beaten path. I was especially troubled with a Kenny Rogers painting with satanic eyes. All of the odd surroundings on top of the provocative doughnut names make for a memorable experience. Not to mention, the doughnuts are delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank humu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Long lines, stale donuts”
Reviewed 21 April 2011

If you're in Portland and have nothing else to do, then maybe Voodoo is worth your while. Be warned, the donuts are NOT as good as they've been hyped up to be. They may have been better had they been fresh, but they tasted like they were made at least 24 hours in advance.

While waiting in line you get to see a good sampling of the cast of characters who roam the streets of Portland. Once inside Voodoo you'll notice all the kitschy, cool decor and have the chance to take some souvenir photos.

But if you're making the trip out for the donuts, save yourself the trip and money and go to your local grocery store.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Korrena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great everything”
Reviewed 13 April 2011

All I can say is BACON MAPLE BAR, here I come again!!! Just make sure you have some time set aside, as sometimes the line to get in goes a block or so down the street!!! http://voodoodoughnut.com/menu.php

  • Visited May 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariatebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must see in Portland!!”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I was highly recommended from many friends to go to Voodoo Doghnut when i visited Portland, and I was not disappointed. It is open super late with amazing donut flavors, as well as some quirky fun tastes. It is all a great value, and is a MUST when experiencing this great city!

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BJMDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Voodoo Doughnut also viewed

 

Been to Voodoo Doughnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing