We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tourist trap - expensive and worthless.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Voodoo Doughnut

Voodoo Doughnut
Ranked #2 of 80 Bakeries in Portland
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tourist trap - expensive and worthless.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Why would you go here ? Its just for tourists who dont know any better. Tasteless, over sugary crappy doughnuts which are way overpriced. Do yourself a favor and ignore every second person you see carrying a big pink box.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBeforeKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,243
    1,692
    1,220
    313
    142
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I don't know what the fuss was all about , they were not all that good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Every time I looked out my window and there was a long line outside Voodoo Donuts ( the best time is the middle of the night when there is no line ) , I finally gave to temptation and went to stand in line at around 10 pm , my turn quickly came and in 15 minutes I was back in my hotel with my Pink box of Voodoo Donuts. I got Triple Chocolate and Oreo , had all of them but didn't find anything great about them. Yeah the layout of donut shop is a bit goth , it's like a cult classic without any real value to it

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank schawlaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yes, They're That Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The donuts are fantastic! It's a tiny shop so be prepared to wait in line for awhile but it's worth the wait! The doughnuts taste like magic! The best bang for you buck is to get the Voodoo Dozen. They pick the 12 donuts for you but it is a better deal because it will get pricey selecting individually.

Helpful?
Thank Ardent015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Even on a Saturday - go early”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We accidentally found VooDoo donuts even though it was on our list of things to do. We were there just after 10am on a Saturday (June) and were about the 6th set of people in line. But after poking around Portland for a couple of hours we went back past the bakery and discovered lines waaay down the street!

The donuts were not especially better than anywhere else, but the fun vibe is there, and the donut choices are lots of fun. Just like what we've seen on TV! The day before, our son and his bride-to-be had some photos taken in suit and wedding gown there!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“If you're into doughnuts, this is the place for you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

It's open 24/7 and was made famous by being on pretty much every Travel Channel show documenting Portland and featured in several others because of their unique doughnuts and unmistakable pink boxes (No joke, I was accosted by 9 different people when I brought a box back to D.C. asking if they could have one or in the case of one business traveler telling me "You brought that from Portland? That is awesome). The line will be long - be prepared to wait.

I suffered that cognitive dissonance that traveler's often face. I wanted to visit Voodoo because it was so well known and a "Portland" thing to do. On the other hand, living in D.C., I hate seeing the long line outside of Georgetown Cupcake and the stupidity of waiting in line for an hour for - a cupcake. So, we were being those people. Fortunately for us, we stopped in at a down hour (4 PM on Sunday) so the line was only about 15 minutes long (it can be an hour during peak times). The doughnut list is so extensive, we just got a dozen of the "Employees Choice" where they just pick good ones for you. Tip: While I still recommend the Employees Choice if you can't make up your mind, be sure to get one of the Voodoo doll doughnuts. It's a doughnut shaped like a little man with a pretzel "pin" stabbing it. Our cashier didn't put one of those in our box and I was sad. Also, the place is cash only.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew_s_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Voodoo Doughnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing