We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brunch!”
Review of Jam on Hawthorne

Jam on Hawthorne
Ranked #74 of 4,320 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$18
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Brunch!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Jams on Hawthorne came recommended by our AirBnb hostess, and it was great! The food was fabulous! We ordered the El Paso Scramble and the vegetarian Tommy's Joint wrap. Both were really wonderful and came with a load of hash browns. All was very delicious.
I do suggest not getting there too close to 3:00 (closing time) because you might get some looks and less than perfect service. I can understand being ready to go home, but we did arrive just a bit after 2:00, so we weren't that late.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amyjemesouviens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    51
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great menu but very noisy.”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Jam has a very interesting menu and lots of great choices. Prices are reasonable and portions are large. I was there with a girlfriend and we had hoped to visit over breakfast but Jam was so noisy that we were unable to do that. The servers were very nice but it seemed like they dropped the used dishes into the dirty dish pans as they cleared the tables so in addition to the noisy atmosphere, we heard an ear splitting crash every once in a while. Was it supposed to be part of the "experience"?

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sea_Squared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hipster heaven and fabulous brunch.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

If you are in this area...this is where to go for brunch or lunch. Great food, very busy with all the young hipster scene in Portland. If you want a flavor of Portlandia...go to Jam on Hawthorne and then visit the rest of the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DarlingDeering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun Breakfast Joint!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stopped in for a late breakfast/brunch. None of us had the breakfast dishes but they looked amazing with generous portions. We will definitely come back to try them. Instead, we chose the turkey wrap and Avocado BLT sandwich. Loved the turkey wrap! The BLT was pretty good but it had too much mayo on it. The atmosphere was really laid back. They even had a play area for the kiddos. Great place for families.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 518 helpful votes
“Good Brunch - 3+ Rating”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were in Salmon Creek/Ridgefield Washington visiting friends - two of them having moved from Hawaii and the other couple visiting from Hawaii. The transplanted Hawaiian drove us to this place for brunch on Thursday. Our friend stated that on weekends it can be very busy with line ups.

This restaurant is located at the corner of SouthEast Hawthorne Boulevard and SouthEast 23rd Avenue.

There were 5 of us and we were promptly seated.

When we were there, it was mostly a younger crowd – 30+ and under; some with young kids – 2 & under but don’t let than deter you from going there.
The restaurant has an unfinished concrete floor and is very spacious. There is lots of room for more tables. At one end, there is also a bar.

I had the eggs Benedict with bacon and hash browns ($10.95). I should have gone with my original instinct and ordered the honey ham. I just didn’t really enjoy the bacon as much and I normally love bacon. I would have ordered the eggs Benedict with Canadian bacon if they had it. The eggs were a little runny as it should be. The hollandaise sauce was okay.
The hashbrown portion was huge. I enjoyed the hash browns with ketchup and the habanero sauce. A little spicy but not so much as to burn your taste buds. Try it!

Our Hawaiian visitor and his spouse shared the corned beef hash ($11) with 2 biscuits ($4). The hash had a mixture of grilled corned beef, bell peppers, red onions and hashbrowns and topped with 2 eggs and a hash sauce containing horseradish. The order also came with toast.

My spouse and her friend shared the vegan MC wrap with hash browns ($8.95). The MC wrap contained sautéed black beans, roasted garlic, caramelized onions, bell peppers, mushrooms and spinach. The wrap itself is a tomato basil tortilla.

The total bill before tips was$44.90 and no sales tax!

Overall, the food was good as was the service. Portion sizes were okay.

I would rate the overall food experience at 3+ out of 5 – nothing to rave about but good.

Notes & Tips:
• Vegetarian options
• Street parking
• Indoor play area for young children/toddlers
• Across the street is Grand Central Bakery that has pastries, breads and a sandwich menu. This place was busy around lunchtime.
• We also visited the Kruger farm market and the seafood store close by – less than 50 yards away across the street.
• See my reviews of Tommy O’s (Vancouver, WA.) and Planet Thai (Salmon Creek)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bottomshelfhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jam on Hawthorne also viewed

 

Been to Jam on Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing