We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Brunch!”
Review of Jam on Hawthorne

Jam on Hawthorne
Ranked #98 of 4,268 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$18
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic Brunch!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Love this quirky gem on Hawthorne. They have fabulous food for breakfast and brunch. The menu is very extensive and interesting but everything on it tastes so good. We had people with food allergies and there was no problem finding something for everyone that they loved! I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aimee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    49
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
169 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Brunch!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Jams on Hawthorne came recommended by our AirBnb hostess, and it was great! The food was fabulous! We ordered the El Paso Scramble and the vegetarian Tommy's Joint wrap. Both were really wonderful and came with a load of hash browns. All was very delicious.
I do suggest not getting there too close to 3:00 (closing time) because you might get some looks and less than perfect service. I can understand being ready to go home, but we did arrive just a bit after 2:00, so we weren't that late.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amyjemesouviens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great menu but very noisy.”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Jam has a very interesting menu and lots of great choices. Prices are reasonable and portions are large. I was there with a girlfriend and we had hoped to visit over breakfast but Jam was so noisy that we were unable to do that. The servers were very nice but it seemed like they dropped the used dishes into the dirty dish pans as they cleared the tables so in addition to the noisy atmosphere, we heard an ear splitting crash every once in a while. Was it supposed to be part of the "experience"?

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sea_Squared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hipster heaven and fabulous brunch.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

If you are in this area...this is where to go for brunch or lunch. Great food, very busy with all the young hipster scene in Portland. If you want a flavor of Portlandia...go to Jam on Hawthorne and then visit the rest of the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DarlingDeering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun Breakfast Joint!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stopped in for a late breakfast/brunch. None of us had the breakfast dishes but they looked amazing with generous portions. We will definitely come back to try them. Instead, we chose the turkey wrap and Avocado BLT sandwich. Loved the turkey wrap! The BLT was pretty good but it had too much mayo on it. The atmosphere was really laid back. They even had a play area for the kiddos. Great place for families.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jam on Hawthorne also viewed

 

Been to Jam on Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing