We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, medocher food, & marginal service at this location”
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #503 of 4,320 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Overpriced, medocher food, & marginal service at this location”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

While I have always liked Outback Steakhouse, whether in Hawaii, Washington State, or elsewhere. But on this occasion the Prime Rib was undercooked, fatty and relatively tasteless.

And the fun didn't stop there; the fries were undercooked and mushy, the bread was overcooked, and my soup was also lukewarm.

I would of complained, had the waiter returned soon after delivering our food. Yet, we didn't see him until we were finished with the meal, leaving half the Prime Rib and sides untouched.

In short, I will NOT be returning to this particular location, EVER!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“I will stick to with my own "BARBIE" next time Mate....”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Not a place to go for a steak. I will not eat here again nor do I recommend this restaurant. The only bright spot was the waiters attempt to serve up that awful chow. If thats how they do it down under , I will dine with the yanks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClintonUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Travelled out of our way to be here”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We just love the Outback Steakhouse chain. Went out of our way to find this one. As usual the food and the service was excellent. The lad at the front of house needs to cheer up a bit but it was so good we went back again this evening. Quesadillas a must!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CluckerJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloha, OR
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not that good”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My dad and I went there because he had a $25 discount card. Dad had prime rib and he said it was good. I wanted healthy food so I picked from their low calorie dishes and chose salmon. I asked the waitress how to make it under 600 calories (like the menu said to do) and she said that it already is and that they add a little butter to the pan so it doesn't stick. My vegetable was too buttery and salty and so was the salmon. I didn't like it at all. Would not go back there even with a $25 discount.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daeges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food was just ok.”
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

I have been going to the outback for years and have always enjoyed the food. But I was disappointed with the quality of the food on my last visit. Not sure I will be going back anytime soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjammerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing