We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delivers to match enticing description”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Southpark Seafood

Southpark Seafood
Ranked #27 of 4,249 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$45
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: SW 9th Ave
Transit: Pioneer Court House Square (from yellow/green/blue/red lines)
Description: The amazingly fresh seafood and produce of the Pacific Northwest, along with Chef Ryan's passion and innovative culinary vision, delivers a meal that is both distinctive and delicious to the table at Southpark Seafood. The beautiful 13 seat oyster bar sports the largest selection of oysters in Portland with over a dozen varieties available every day. All of the seafood we sell are fished or farmed in ways that minimize their environmental impact. Located in the heart of Portland's Cultural District, Southpark Seafood is the window into Downtown Portland and the perfect place to relax while taking in it's vibrant energy. Southpark Seafood also offers a $5 Happy Hour with full portion menu items at only $5 each and a selection of bar menu items at $5 off their normal price. Happy Hour is available at the Oyster Bar, on the Patio or in the Bar, 3-6 and 10-midnight every day.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
133 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delivers to match enticing description”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

While looking for a restaurant on the Downtown Portland walking map we were given at our hotel, I read the following description for Southpark: "...a contemporary seafood restaurant inspired by the amazing farmers, fishers and winemakers of the region". This sounded quite interesting, and we were not disappointed. The restaurant has a neat, contemporary décor, and provided excellent service, including great coffee, and wonderfully fresh seafood. My wife and I shared a delicious beet salad, and both enjoyed our entrees of grilled halibut and grilled salmon. Southpark is only a few minutes walk from the MAX, just down the street from the Portland Art Museum. The wine selections also met the description, and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank granddadb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, General Manager at Southpark Seafood, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you so much for the great review!
We hope to see you again next time you make it to Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    233
    70
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We are 2 foodies and were meeting 2 friends who were not hugely adventurous eaters so were looking for a place that would be interesting but not too "out there". We thought the menu looked good so checked out the space early in the afternoon. Staff were very helpful with our questions! We came back with our friends for dinner and were more than pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and the beautiful presentations. Our friends had the lobster tortelloni and raved about it, cleaning their plates. My husband had the pepper-crusted ahi and said the sashimi grade tuna was seared perfectly and respectfully. I had the night's halibut special and fell in love with the black garlic puree and the fresh raw veg salad that came with it. It had shaved strips of carrots, radishes and asparagus with parsley and green peas and was tasty and very refreshing. My only comment is that the fish was a little overcooked. We shared some oysters and the cheese board to start; the oysters were fresh and the mignonette was lovely, The selections of cheeses were good and the portions generous, and the tomato jam and chutney accompaniments exceptional. The waiter was very helpful with the wine selection too. Even though we were all pleasantly full, we opted for desserts and were glad we did. The butterscotch pudding and the chocolate tart were standouts. The atmosphere was airy and inviting and the service was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant to my friends and would definitely go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPSsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, General Manager at Southpark Seafood, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your dinner! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for introducing us to your friends. We hope to see you again next time you come down to Portland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easter Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice and up-scale”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Nice menu, interesting presentations. Went with elderly mother and got very attentive, pleasant service. Liked the fish board and the wine selection. Sorry to say that we were too full at the end to try the deserts.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank treagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, General Manager at Southpark Seafood, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for the great review! Hope to see you again soon!
Thanks again - Jason, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
357 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Excellent oysters, seafood and service”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our group of seven, mostly out-of-towners, loved this place for its excellent selection of raw oysters and fresh seafood.

I've been taking visitors to SouthPark since it opened because it is convenient to hotels, concert venues, art museum, and historical society, and has excellent food and service, nice wines, and a pleasant ambiance with big windows to a quiet street. There is no difficulty conversing in the restaurant. For visitors to Portland seeking good NW seafood--some is flown in from Hawaii--SouthPark is a better bet than some of the old-line emporia, which tend to be more expensive but not better. For oyster lovers, there are usually three or more selections, which you can mix or match.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GeorgePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Went back a 2nd time”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Enjoyed a lovely lunch at Southpark our first day in Portland, the food and service were great and the atmosphere is lovely. my lunch was delicous and the portion sizes are just right (sometimes I find lunch portions too large). The wine bar area looked inviting so we returned to Southpark on our last day in Portland and were not disappointed!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Isabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Southpark Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing