We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Ono" (good) Grinds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bamboo Grove Hawaiian Grille

Bamboo Grove Hawaiian Grille
Ranked #440 of 4,236 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Ono" (good) Grinds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

As usual, this place did not disappoint. Generous portions with good service on the patio. My only complaint? Passion Fruit (Lilikoi) flavored Iced Tea was plain Iced Tea with hardly any flavoring. Had my 60th Birthday Lu'au here a couple of years ago. I shall never forget it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maleka50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guam USA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Big Big Big Portions of Hawaiian Favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Love this place for authentic tasting hawaiian plate food - from the setting to the piped in music to the food - macaroni salad, real rice (sticky calrose) and the marinaded BBQ meats - its all good! Even the so called portuguese sausage "appetizer" is such a large portion you can make a meal of it. Word of advise - if you are a first timer to this restaurant an don't eat big portions on a regular basis order a "small' plate so you don't waste food and money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MYSPIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Not many tables, so it may be a bit of a wait, but it's definitely worth it. The food is good and the service is good. What more can you ask for?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PLJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Hawaiian Food in Oregon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is by far our favorite Restaurant, the food is authentic and Awesome. Rivals any Hawaiian food on the Islands Recommend a reservation. You will not be disappointed, Portions are large. . .

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Hawaiian YUM”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Always wanted to eat here but it's almost impossible to find Hawaiian food made with wheat free soy sauce. Now that's all they use here! And it's GOOOOOOD. My frugal Dad thought it was a bit spendy for lunch but was then impressed by the portion size and ended up taking 1/2 his meal home. His BBQ chicken special was great, my pan fried chicken was perfect, and Mom's ribs were finger lickin' good, literally, I mean, she was licking her fingers. I've never been to Hawaii, but I know people who have and they say this place is very authentic. It's a bit loud in the main room (Dad doesn't hear well) but then when your mouth is full you're not conversing anyway. Also a downside is the only GF subsitute for the mac salad is a cheap, plain salad of bagged lettuce, but maybe one day they'll make a GF mac salad! Looking forward to going back for Mai Tais at Happy hour and some Hawaiian tunes weekend evenings.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Krayche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bamboo Grove Hawaiian Grille also viewed

 

Been to Bamboo Grove Hawaiian Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing