We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and not as "Mad" as they used to be”
Review of Mad Greek Deli INC - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mad Greek Deli INC
Price range: US$9 - US$9
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
172 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food and not as "Mad" as they used to be”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

When I first started going to this place, the "Mad Greek" was there taking your order and yelling at you to hurry (think soup Nazi) but now there is a new generation. Fortunately...they food has remained very good. Traditional Gyros are my favorite and be sure to ask for the "special" if you want Gyro, Greek Salad and Greek Fries (don't call them french fries, jo-jos or anything else. I think that might be what made the Greek mad in the first place!). Less than $10 for the full plate and it is a lot of food. Two people can easily get a plate and an extra gyro and share.

The place isn't real big, seating is crowded and ambiance is...well there isn't a lot but it is an old house so it is fun. Seating outside if weather is nice so summer is a great time to go and not worry about the crowds. It is popular so expect a lunch rush. I like to take friends and collegues to the Mad Greek when I want to go someplace unique, local, and not a chain. Give it a try and enjoy the experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Near San Francisco
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good take out! great fried calamari”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had take out from here when in Portland visiting family. the fried calamari are wonderful and they make a very nice suvlaki sandwich. the spanikopita was very good but my family reported that the stuffed grape leaves are poor.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cymbidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great gyros”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

If you are looking for a great gyro and those awesome Greek fries, this is the place for you. The service is aloof and often times rude but the food is great.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank HikeBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rated as one of the best?”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Okay, we stopped here because we had heard it was one of the best Greek places on the west side, and I have to admit, I was completely unimpressed. Here's the deal, I ordered the gyro plate and a side of hummus. Let's start with the hummus, it was thin, loose, and nowhere near smooth. It was more like a sauce than a proper hummus.

Next up, the gyro plate. A stack of perfectly cut gyro meat that looked like and tasted like it came right off of a school menu. The pita was cut into 4 pieces which were too small to do anything productive with and it was drenched with tzatziki sauce. The diced tomatoes and onions looked like they had been done by someone in a hurry with a butter knife, absolutely no consistency to the cuts. All in all, it was a miserable presentation, and a total let down.

To go in expecting excellent food and to find something that looked like it was thrown together as an after thought and with no consideration as to how to eat this mess, it failed in my opinion, and we will not be back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Mad Greek Salad and Wine”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Love the salads and gyros here. The Greek Fries aren't bad either and you must do the fry sauce. The wine selection is amazing, and they sell bottles for take home. The wine list is extensive and they know their stuff. Make sure and see Nicole in the bar, she's the best!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank wegougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mad Greek Deli INC also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing