We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The buffalo burger is the best anywhere!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffalo Gap Saloon & Eatery

Buffalo Gap Saloon & Eatery
Ranked #794 of 4,238 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: US$1 - US$30
Cuisines: Pub, American, Bar, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family-friendly American dishes star at this relaxed eatery with live music & games such as pool.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The buffalo burger is the best anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Great atmosphere. Good food, served fast by friendly servers. A great place to have a few beers with friends. The carrot cake is to die for. The serving size is so large, plan to share it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TroyI320, Owner at Buffalo Gap Saloon & Eatery, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hey Craig,
Thanks for coming in and taking the time to give us some feedback., we're glad that you enjoyed our Buffalo Burger! We look forward to serving you again!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
208 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“It's the Cowboy Chop for me!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The menu here is huge! I can never decide what I want to eat. The variety of items is so great that I always want to try different things but I always get the Cowboy Chop Salad. It is divine. I love the taste. It has crispy onion rings on top and fresh cilantro. The BBQ chicken is tasty, there is corn and black beans too. With the delicious dressing the ingredients blend together to create a mouthful of joy! Seriously, this is one of my top 10 salads of all time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Madge464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TroyI320, Owner at Buffalo Gap Saloon & Eatery, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hello!

I just wanted to say thank you for your business and for the time it took to write this review. We're glad that your like our Cowboy Chop, great choice! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
117 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“"Pupus on the Patio"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

First off, "pupu" is the Hawaiian word for "appetizer" as in Happy Hour small plates. We went and we loved everything. Great local beer, great Redwood Merlot, terrific hummus, sliders, Caesar salad, bleu cheese and bacon wedge, pesto pizza and quesadillas....all from the Happy Hour Menu. Perfect night on the perfect patio.....a little sun and a lot of shade under the pergola roof. We will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ElisePortlandOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TroyI320, Manager at Buffalo Gap Saloon & Eatery, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for the great comments Elise. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Reubens by OHSU”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Service a bit slow, no booths, and the chairs were a bit hard. Buffalo burger was great, but the Reuben was delicious! Don't bother with Cole slaw, but they'll fry your fries extra-extra crispy if you ask.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank firstlish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“B&B suggestion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We were staying at the Fulton House B&B in Portland and the inn keeper suggested a place close enough to walk to. The Buffalo Gap is a local 'joint' with a huge menu.- the usual pub fare but also many pasta dishes and salads. It had a nice crowd for a week night but prompt friendly service.
I settled on one of their many burgers that was cooked the way I asked and my wife had one of the many dinner salads. We decided to splurge and start with their famous onion wings - WOW! huge hand dipped and fried to perfection. The only problem was they could have fed 4 people.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffkoppel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Buffalo Gap Saloon & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing