We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a picture stop”
Review of Chinatown Gate

Chinatown Gate
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
Portland Segway Tour
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just a picture stop”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Nice gate, but it's not much different that gates I've seen all over the country. Nice place for a photo op, if you frame your shot right. Homeless camp on one side of the gate and a street of mostly empty store fronts behind it.

Helpful?
Thank Orion G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    18
    27
    32
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Talent, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If you've seen the photo, you've seen the gate.”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We strolled by as we strolled through the district. There it was. Not much to say. But I could be less impressed because I've seen the gate in San Francisco's Chinatown. Which may or may not be any better than this one.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maurice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
1,790 reviews
572 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

There isn't much in downtown China town. There are so many other places to go in Portland that are hundred times better.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Autumn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nothing Special in Portland's China Town”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I specially went to the area to check out there China town, but did not find much. The gate is ok, but there are not many shops, or restaurants around. the area is sketchy and mostly empty. Some places are accupied with homeless people.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Pak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you have not seen one in another city, check it out!”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Most Chinese restaurants have moved out of this area and I would not go when it's dark. The "Entertainment District" is right there and it's kind of seedy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbums87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chinatown Gate also viewed

 

Been to Chinatown Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing