We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portland's Hidden Treasure”
Review of Forest Park

Forest Park
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$89.00*
and up
Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #6 of 445 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest urban park in the county, lined with trails for hiking and biking.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Portland's Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Forest Park is a beautiful stretch of wilderness forest you don't have to leave town for! One of the largest areas of undisturbed nature within the city limits of any American city.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LAlanPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    124
    9
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing natural wonder”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Get lost in the beauty of Oregon's Forest Park. Wonderful trails clearly marked, for all ages and fitness levels. Serene nature, lush, beautiful!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank veggieluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You could spend a week hiking here.”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I regret that we only allowed one afternoon for this gorgeous park. We chose to do the popular Balch Creek route to the Stone House and it was breathtakingly beautiful.

On return trips I will definitely plan for at least a full day of hiking these trails.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
146 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A wonderful day”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed with friends in Portland and they offered to take us on a forest walk. It sounded great and we had such a lovely day. We started at the fantastic market in the city and then caught the train up to the top of the hill and walked back down, going via the rose gardens on the way too. It was very relaxing and scenic, and not overly strenuous. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank wahinetoaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First time and not the last”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I am newer to Portland and wanted to check out this Witch House/Castle in Forest Park. Do your homework on the place and you will realize there is a creepy story behind the name. The trails were awesome, taking you along the side of the hills, with great views of the park. Kind of felt like Endor and a bunch of Ewoks were going to pop out at any minute walking along.

The Witch Castle/House is pretty cool, just a hollowed out stone structure now, yet has an odd zeal to it. Definitely worth a checkout. You do not need to be in great shape to get there, just a quick little hike, but to the trail loops for some great scenery.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing