We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check Out Oaks Bottom Wildlife Refuge”

Oaks Bottom Wildlife Refuge
Ranked #113 of 444 things to do in Portland
Attraction details
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Check Out Oaks Bottom Wildlife Refuge”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have not been to Oaks Bottom Wildlife Refuge for several years and I was amazed at the improvements in the trail, the platform for viewing, the removal of invasive species, the railings and improved walkways in muddy areas. I began at the Milwaukie Street trailhead and walked along the Oak Bluff Trail and around the meadow, returned along the Springwater Corridor trail and found a lovely trail along the Willamette River that I walked about 30 minutes for views of the river. the islands and kayakers before returning to the trailhead via a shaded trail that rejoined the Oaks Bluff Trail. Next time I will bring my binoculars as there were lots of birds for viewing. The only thing that could be better would be a trail between the pond and the railroad tracks for better viewing of the wildlife in the pond area. I was checking it out to hopefully bring a grop of friends.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
302 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Best kept urban outdoor secret in Portland!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I love this place!! I visited several times over the summer, and never tired of it. Recent reconstruction on the hiking trail includes a platform for viewing out over the pond, where you can often glimpse herons and all other sorts of birds flying around. Across the pond to the West is Oaks Amusement Park, and Springwater Trail. Above Oaks Bottom is Sellwood Park, equipped with fields and a pool. You can access Oaks Bottom many ways, and there is a trailhead just off of Milwaukie and Holgate.

This is great for trail-running, or an easy 2 mile or so level hike around the East side of the pond. You can cross over the field and access Springwater trail or get to Oaks Amusement park. Above the trail sits the Portland Mausoleum, lending a bit of a creepy feel to the trail. I am not sure I would want to be out after dark down here.

If you are looking for a scenic urban hike, this is the one. I come here season after season, year after year, and never tire. The trail is a just off the Willamette River, and on a summer's day, with blue skies and sunshine, fantastic! A great place for dogs and families as well, I have walked the trail with both.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SassyGirlJenna729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Slice of Nature in the City”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This recently renovated trail through one of the first urban wildlife preserves in the country. The relatively easy bluff trail takes you along the edge of marshland, giving peeks at heron, ducks, raptors and a variety of other birds. Warblers will serenade you, crows will heckle, and if you're lucky you'' even see a few deer out in the brush. The trail has gentle changes in elevation, a few wooden bridges and some elevated grated walkways. An wonderful way to escape the city without actually leaving the city. After your walk, there are plenty of cafes, coffee houses and pubs in the town of Sellwood to rest in!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NVNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elko, Nevada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good place”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We dropped a black bird here once with a hurt wing, they took it right away and nursed back to health. Lots of saved owls and birds. A cool Museum inside and a gift shop. A good hike too. Good for kids as well!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank zaria4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great escape from the city”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I biked here from the Portland Convention Center to escape the city for a morning. I stayed on the paved bike trail, and was a pretty ride. I wish I had brought my binoculars, because there were some great water birds. There were a few people set up with tripods along the trail.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oaks Bottom Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Oaks Bottom Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing