We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cinema Brews and Kids don't mix”

McMenamins Kennedy School
Ranked #1 of 215 Nightlife in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cinema Brews and Kids don't mix”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Our nearly 18 yr old son was not allowed to go to the movies here in the evening due to 'adult beverages'. Too bad, as we wanted to go see a flick. We had dinner instead, which was a great choice for us because we were hungry anyway.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joehydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    47
    15
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
749 reviews
225 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 663 helpful votes
“Very Oregon, Very Original”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Not inexpensive and very quirky but the kind of place you should go to wander through and look around. Rooms for rent with bathrooms down the hall, huge outside porch with rockers and chairs, scheduled outdoor music, function rooms, a restaurant, a bar but the food was horrid although the restaurant that opens early evening is raved about locally. The place looks like an old school with most of the fixtures still in tact and the pictures, art work and décor is very intriguing. From reading the descriptions, it was a poor house. They have a gift shop but it is lacking in originality and pricy for the area. Worth a trip just to wander around, study the art work, enjoy the gardens and rockers on the porch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebekajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favorite pdx local watering hole”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

There is always something going on. I also have stayed overnight very cute chalkboards in the rooms. The theater is a great pdx experience and each bar is its own unique experience

Helpful?
Thank hallowhills
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Parkville, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed downtown for the first part of our trip to Portland and after going to Mount Hood and the coast, we returned to Portland and decided to stay in the Northeast part of the city. The Kennedy school was a great choice. They have spent lots of time creating a place that is comfortable but also maintains the integrity of the original school building. We especially enjoyed the soaking pool. We stayed in one of the new rooms in the annex since that was the only availability, however next time we would try the main building, as the rooms are larger. Also this hotel is in a great neighborhood with wonderful restaurants nearby. Try the Grain and Gristle on Prescott.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of stuff to do.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

The restaurant has really good food, but it's kinda spendy. You do get large portions though, so that makes up for it. The Fish and Chips has some of the biggest pieces of fried fish I've ever seen. There's also a movie theater that uses old-style couches for seating (very comfy) and there's a big heated sitting pool outside. The movies and pool are free for anyone that rents one of the hotel rooms (which used to be class rooms and are themed after writers of children's books). The rooms are cool, but they don't have any TVs or coffee makers, so for the price that's kind of a let down.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McMenamins Kennedy School also viewed

 

Been to McMenamins Kennedy School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing