We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good dowtown hotel, AMAZING GYM” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sentinel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sentinel
Ranked #7 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Belfair, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good dowtown hotel, AMAZING GYM”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel through Rocketmiles, sight unseen. When we arrived the hotel clerk was very friendly and upgraded our standard room to a corner fireplace room for $40. The room was not clean yet, and she told us it would be about an hour. We returned 2 hours later and the room still wasnt ready. We waited another half hour in the lobby and when the room still wasnt ready she apoligized profusely and upgraded us to a top floor corner suite with verandah ovelooking the city (normally $600 a night!). The room and view were great. Bed was super comfy and with an 80 degree weekend in Portland the verandah was awesome. We were a little disappointed that there was no pool, but the gym more than made up for it! We are used to minimalist hotel gyms with a crummy treadmill and a universal gym from the 80's, this gym was replete with 10+ machines in good condition, 6 cardio machines and even some free weights.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Investig8or430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    250
    75
    22
    15
See reviews for
227
556
59
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

A friend recommended The Governor for it's grandeur and charm....We were delighted to arrive at the (new) Sentinel---which very successfully managed to retain the appeal and luxe details of its former identity beautifully-- while incorporating some tasteful updates to the mix. The staff is A-1 and our room absolutely gorgeous! Room 323 boasts a fireplace and a large bathroom, in addition to a gigantic and very comfortable bed. We would have loved to stay longer!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd Floor-- a corner room (323) with LOTS of windows--Beautiful light! Noise from str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Truly enjoyed my stay at the Sentinel. The hotels location is central - great place for those touring the city or staying for a business trip. The room was spacious but cozy, including every amentity needed. I was surprised by the excellent service and hotel room being many other rooms in the city had already sold out and the Sentinel was still a great price.

Room Tip: If you haven't stayed before - make sure to mention its your first time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hope B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel was undergoing renovation when i stayed causing some inconvenience as I had to walk around a long way to the elevators but the rooms were perfect and the staff were very friendly. Attached is a nice restaurant James Grill and a large Starbucks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanaySai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband I and stayed at this hotel on our first trip to Portland. It's in a really good location and within a short walking distance to the water. Right outside, there are also tons of small huts of food vendors! The front desk girl gave us a complementary upgrade to a hotel room with a parlor. The room was large and spacious. Even the windows were gigantic. The cleaning and front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I was blown away when I saw how nice the gym was too! The vale parking was expensive (around $40) so we ended up parking our rental in a parking garage about two blocks away close to a church for about $14. This hotel is clean and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lperez_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My first visit to Portland…..I was absolutely delighted by this boutique hotel. Though the front desk was a bit thin when I arrived, the attendant was very attentive when it was my turn. Portland is a beautiful city but admittedly my room was so comfortable, I didn't feel the need to leave the room. The hotel has only 5-6 floors but has lovely views of the city. The rooms are definitely not generic and are very picturesque. You may have a pressed juice of choice sent to your room in the early morning.

The lobby has a large Starbucks on the 1st floor. Room service is 24 hrs but has a limited menu between 11PM-7AM. In the early evening, the bar on the 1st floor is definitely appealing and is a crowd pleaser with classic and new cocktail trends. There is also a nice gym on the 1st floor. At the other end is a very good restaurant called the James Grill. The hotel location is perfectly set with several bars/restaurants and stores.

This hotel is a great getaway for a date night, vacation, or on business. This hotel was truly lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docfoodie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

we had such a great time and thoroughly enjoyed this new discovery thanks to travelportland.com.
great place to stay and eat and drink and ....we had such a great time.
the country benny in the restaurant was a favorite as is the happy hour specials.

Room Tip: corner rooms have 2 windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2finefellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentinel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentinel

Property: Sentinel
Address: 614 SW 11th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205-2624 (Formerly The Governor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sentinel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sentinel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor Hotel Portland Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing