We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An upscale hotel”
Review of Sentinel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sentinel
Ranked #6 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel, formerly the Governor, is, to us, a first class hotel. As a result, it is a bit pricey, but worth it. I has the charm of a turn-of-the century hotel and one can almost sense the life from past years. The folks at the desk were very friendly and helpful. Our room happened to be on the northeast corner, and we could see and hear the street activity (it was saturday night). Parking, as is true in most cities, was by valet, and there was an extra fee. The hotel was within walking distance of the famous Powell Bookstore.

Room Tip: The noise level was a bit high until the saxophone player on the street went home about 11pm, Woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul1439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGM529, General Manager at Sentinel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Like you, we think Sentinel is also a first - class hotel with gracious employees ready to assist. We appreciate your review and solid recommendation. Please consider staying with us again the next time you visit Portland. It would be our pleasure to have you with us.

Sincerely,

Chris Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,367 - 1,373 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel has a rich history, and is in a great location. It has been renovated, and the lobby is much better and more accessbile. Rooms are perfectly lovely, with all the amenities. Teh only downside is a very, very loud bar scene in the area that used to be the reception desk--but it seems just to be a weekend phenomena.

Room Tip: Make sure you are above the second floor, and not on the north side--because the kitchen for Jake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane48_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGM529, General Manager at Sentinel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Sentinel does have a rich history, as you point out. The trick is to blend that history with modern amenities that today's upscale travelers demand. Thank you for the kind words about our recent updates and for noticing.

Please let us know the next time you are in Portland. It would be wonderful to see you again.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just moved out of the Sentinel Hotel after 3 AMAZING months-- once our home repairs were completed. And looking back.... we have nothing but great memories of our stay there. What a quality team of professionals from top to bottom. Front Office Manager Dave Fry sets the standard high and the whole team delivers, hour after hour... day after day-- with amazing warmth, cheer and always a smile. It's no accident that every aspect of this hotel is top notch! We were unflinchingly treated like royalty, no matter what our request.... along with so many gestures of thoughtfulness before we even thought to ask! We heartily recommend this hotel without the slightest hesitation. It's home away from home at its best!!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank 2carolpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGM529, General Manager at Sentinel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We will share them with the entire team who will appreciate knowing that you felt so cared for. We truly appreciated your business but, most importantly, we appreciate you allowing us to serve you. Being out of your home isn't easy. We are pleased to hear that this difficult time was made somewhat easier by the warmth and graciousness of Team Sentinel.

Good luck as you settle back into things and again, our sincere thanks.

Respectfully,

Chris Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I think they just renovated the hotel but I loved the decor. They have these awesome blown up black & white pics in the hallway of old stars. The rooms were super comfortable and pretty spacious. The customer service was great. It's also a great location. Didn't use the car at all when I was there. I had absolutely no issues.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vanessa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGM529, General Manager at Sentinel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you so much for commenting on our comfortable, spacious rooms and our accomodating, attentive service. We hope you will consider staying with us again on a future trip to Portland.

Again, thank you very much.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel has been completely refurbished and gives a very trendy vibe. We had a suite on the sixth floor which was fairly large but quirkily shaped and laid out e.g. there was a large window from our seating area out to the common hallway, presumably to get light in from the glass roofed hallway. Fixtures and fittings are high end and tastefully done. Our friends in a different suite did find the A/C loud. Service was friendly and efficient. Valet parking is available but is $36/night. The trendy bar/nightclub "Jacknife" adjoins the lobby and the noise level is disturbing at times in the lobby area. Hotel is two blocks from the trendy Pearl District and kitty corner to a large array of food trucks offering food from around the world.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onx23mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGM529, General Manager at Sentinel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. It sounds like you were able to do and see a lot while you were with us. Great comments regarding our staff, thank you. Great feedback regarding our lobby bar as well, which we will be sure to pass along.

Again, thanks for being our guest. We look forward to your return visit.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a hotel in a grand, old building. Obviously it has been brought up to 21st century standards. Four of us stayed here for a long weekend. Three had doubles and one had a suite. The rooms are typical of a high end hotel with nothing particularly outstanding. The suite had an unusual and welcomed feature -- a large window that opens up into the hallway. When needed, there were curtains that could be drawn to provide privacy.

The only drawback I would point out is that, for women, there simply isn't enough space in the bathroom to put all our bottles, jars, brushes, etc. I've never been able to figure out why hotels do this because it would be so simple, especially in a bathroom of this size, to install a narrow counter on the wall that would provide much needed storage space.

The location is ideal. It's within walking distance of the MAX red line light rail that comes in from the airport. There are a couple of streetcar stops behind the hotel. And, best of all, half a block away are dozens of food trucks (they appear to be permanently in place rather than mobile) that offer a nice variety of grab-and-go food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lust4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGM529, General Manager at Sentinel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

You picked up on something which many of our guests also comment on. Our location. Portland has a well deserved reputation for exceedingly efficient public transportation. Sentinel's location to both the streetcars as well as light rail make getting around easy and convenient.

Thanks for making the point. We appreciate both the feedback as well as your business. Looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Chris Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here last week. The hotel was beautiful, with touches of both elegance and modern funky updates, for example a modern colorful picture in our room of John Lennon. Staff was friendly, fun and helpful. Great downtown location; an easy walk to the waterfront. Dinner at Jake's Grill was tasty and the service was excellent! Next time we have a reason to be in Portland, we will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in 601, beautiful room, but skylights make room very "light" in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Casper05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGM529, General Manager at Sentinel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thanks for the great review and for noticing the thoughtfully curated art in your room. Sentinel pays tribute through its art to forward thinking, visionaries like John Lennon. These images can be seen throughout the hotel, both in guest rooms and public spaces. Our goal is to blend genuine hospitality with art. To provide a sense of discovery.

We look forward to having you stay with us again. Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#4 of 146 in Portland
1,770 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 146 in Portland
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentinel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentinel

Address: 614 SW 11th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205-2624 (Formerly The Governor Hotel)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £142 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sentinel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sentinel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor Hotel Portland Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing