We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't get better service anywhere else”
Review of Sentinel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sentinel
Ranked #4 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

In our three night stay we had two phone calls to see how we were doing of if we needed anything else. That's customer care. Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautifully appointed, good internet speed, beautiful room. The location is incredibly central. A couple of blocks from any of the main attractions in Portland. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SharonTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,318 - 1,324 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

As someone who travels most of the time for business the Sentinel was a wonderful change of pace. The staff made me feel like royalty and the room and amenities were excellent. I highly recommend the Sentinel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great hotel, very chic and lovely staff! New Jack Knife bar downstairs is great and the rooms are fantastic. Nice location near the food trucks and short walk every where. I would never stay anyway else in Portland.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Booked a last minute trip to Portland for work and all the big chain hotels were either full or asking upwards of $500 a night. I almost gave up when I found an available room at the Sentinel for a decent price. The hotel ended up being great, rooms were comfortable and clean and the decor throughout the hotel was really unique and interesting. The hotel is in a great location (within walking distance to great downtown Portland locations) and it has a really good front bar (Jack Knife) which was well and truly pumping for a Wednesday night.

The only downside to this trip was the hotel Gym. The gym is not too bad per se, there are a bunch of weight machines, a few free weights (dumbells) and a few treadmills and bikes. However, there was classical music(think beethoven and brahms) playing in the gym 24/7, not the kind of music you want to work out to. I asked a staff member at the front desk if she could change the station and she said she was not sure how. I did a little investigating myself and noticed that there was an old school 90's clock radio hardwired (literally spliced) into the gym speaker cables, which was tuned to an old classical music station. My only suggestion to management would be to hook up an ipod or even tune the radio to a more lively station.

Seriously, other than the minuscule gym music mishap, the hotel was great and so were the staff. I will definitely be visiting the Sentinel again on my next trip to Portland and will probably pack my headphones just in case.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pubreview_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

mother/daughter trip before university starts ... given upgraded room and sparkling cider ... only complaint was no in-room movies but we borrowed DVD and bought movie across street ... bit noisy outside

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BethNewfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris b, General Manager at Sentinel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

The best endorsement is one in which people indicate their intent to return. We can't wait to see you again. Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your review.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is hospitality at its finest. You will not do better anywhere in Portland. I come to Portland frequently on business and have stayed at the property many times over the years. I highly recommend The Sentinel Hotel (formerly The Governor).




  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Loved everything about the hotel! From the little details like bookshelves in the registration desk to the smell of fresh laundry in the rooms. Its not the cheapest hotel to stay at, but you definitely won't regret spending your money there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,746 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentinel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentinel

Address: 614 SW 11th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205-2624 (Formerly The Governor Hotel)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £140 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sentinel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sentinel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor Hotel Portland Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing