We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean, but WIFI is horrendous.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
Ranked #70 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
223 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, but WIFI is horrendous.”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stay here for business very frequently. Its either here or across the parking lot at the Fairfield inn. both properties are new. I like the residence inn very much because of the following.

1) the rooms are quite large.
2) every room has a kitchenette.
3) free breakfast. Eggs, sausage, toast, waffles. (but it can get busy so take it back to your room)
4) they have evening social M-Th. Free food and drinks. I often use this as my dinner.

But......

The wifi here is simply the worst I have ever had at a hotel. It's a must have for me as I run an online business. I can never get a good signal, regardless of what room I am in. So I am forced to use their wired connection, but even this is terribly slow. So much so that I walk over to Fairfield and use the net in their lobby.

Sadly, I can't stay here anymore because of this issue. So now I stay at the Fairfield.

Also, this hotel complex is located next to the interstate. Impossible to go anywhere during rush hour. Nothing is nearby except pizza and subway sandwiches and a gas station.

Room Tip: Don't come here if you need wifi. Better have a mobile hotspot if you need access to the web.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtravelers_ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilaryBarraza, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland North Harbour, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Hello Trendchaser,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, and others on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear about your experience with our internet service during your stay in August, and I am excited to share with you that as of December 15, 2011, we had our service upgraded, and now have over 5 times the speed that you experienced during your stay with us in August. We are thrilled to be providing our guests with 15MBPS, considerably more than most hotels provide!

I hope that you will come back and experience it for yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    67
    32
    16
    6
See reviews for
71
42
7
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

All rooms have full kitchen with pots and pans, cutlery, plates, cups, dishwasher, full fridge, stove, microwave and sink with garborator. This is a bonus for travelers who like to make their own food and save money. Room had chair, coffee table and pullout couch in front of the TV. King size bed with sink and closet next to a separate bathroom. Stayed from Saturday to Monday, room was quiet and we slept well. The floors bounced when you walked across the room which shook the TV on the dresser. Good location within 10 mins of downtown Portland and the airport. Breakfast is included and is nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

For the price it is a great deal if you need a little extra room. We booked the 2bd 2bth unit and we enjoyed having the extra bathroom. The hotel could use a face lift and I am picky when it comes to cleanliness (could have been cleaner). We used the shuttle to the airport which was a nice but it is about a 15 min ride.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famtravl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This hotel offers an airport shuttle and is within walking distance to the Expo center. Lots of options for breakfast in the morning. I stayed over a weekend and did not have a chance to try their meals at night. Full kitchen and very comfortable rooms. Very friendly staff and a great shuttle driver.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharpspas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I want to preface this review by saying that holidays and opinions of hotels are very personal, what I like about a hotel may not appeal to someone else. My reviews try to be objective.

I needed to stay in Portland for 3 nights, the location wasn't important as I had a car (which is needed for this hotel).

The hotel itself is set among other Marriott properties on North Anchor Way, quite difficult to find if you don't have GPS.

Although we arrived late, check-in was quick and courteous. I had a 1 bedroom suite on the 2nd floor. The suites have a separate living area with sofa-bed, TV and kitchenette with dish washer, coffee maker, 2 ring hob and fridge freezer. Coffee is supplied which is replenished each day but no fresh milk. There is a Target and Safeway nearby for supplies or the hotel can get them delivered if you need. Also in the room is an iron and ironing board, hairdryer and shampoo, conditioner and soap. In the bedroom is a double bed, wardrobe and TV. They only seem to change the sheets once per stay if you are short term, but not a problem.

Breakfast is served 0630 to 0930 each weekday and also at weekends. Hot food and cereals, yoghurt, waffles etc are available. However you need to eat off paper plates and use plastic utensils, same for dinner also (didn't eat dinner here but saw other people doing so).

There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance, a Pizza one is the closest, others are about 20 mins walk on Jentzen island.

So, what lets it down?

Firstly, the internet. I needed the internet for working and it was very unreliable, constantly dropping signal.

Secondly, the noise. As other people have mentioned, this is quite a noisy hotel. You can hear people walking and talking above and below you and noise from toilets being lfushed etc.

Thirdly, although they supply soap etc, there is no shower gel supplied. Personal preference but there you go.

Finally, there was a used roast chicken box left on the balcony for the duration I was there. Maybe I should have said something to reception to get housekeeping to move it, but I just wanted to see if they would, even if the curtains were left open for them to see it. It wasn't.

So, because of these things, I give this property a score of 3. The beds are comfortable and the rooms clean and comfortable, the staff are friendly and the breakfast is reasonably good.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gertcha_Cowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My husband and I spent a week at this hotel while water damage in our home was remediated. The one-bedroom suite was clean and comfortable, and the kitchen was well-equiped. (The dishwasher, however, is NOISY!) Sadly, the "fireplace" in the corner was purely decorative, lacking any controls. Lighting was good, which is a plus for any hotel nowadays. Breakfast was a bit better than the usual business hotel offerings, but evening snacks were heavy on salt and fat. Being a Portland resident, I was surprised that the hotel didn't offer recycling services. Free newspapers and free drinks in aluminum cans were readily available, but no recycling stations. And this in a city that now has residential food waste recycling! That being said, we won't hesitate to return when the repairs begin; we can always bring our recyclables home with us!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawgrrl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Easy drive into Portland. We had a two bedroom suite. One of the bedrooms was quiet but the other was full of highway noise. Breakfast was very nice. Evening snacks not so great. Front desk staff very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
0.7 mi away
Portlander Inn
Portlander Inn
#84 of 140 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
0.5 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland North Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland North Harbour

Property: Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
Address: 1250 N Anchor Way, Portland, OR 97217-7579
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland North Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Fiber Internet Service! As of December 15, 2011 our internet service has been upgraded to 5 times the the speeds previously provided. Stylishly upgraded features and amenities are standard in every suite, including 27" Flat CRT TVs; stainless steel appliances; granite countertops; luxurious bedding designer selected fabrics, floor covering and lighting. Our spacious hotel suites are perfect for business and leisure travelers who are looking for quality short, extended or temporary housing. Each guest suite features a large living room area and all of the comforts of home. The Residence Inn by Marriott Portland North Harbour is ideally situated near the Portland Expo Center, Portland International Raceway, Portland State University, and the Rivergate Industrial Park. For added convenience, our hotel offers a complimentary airport shuttle to and from Portland International Airport, just 6 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Portland North Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland North Harbor Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing