We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean place but not luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluebird Guesthouse
Durham NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean place but not luxurious”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed at his guesthouse with a friend. The room and the bath were very clean and the bed comfortable. The steps to our room on the 2nd floor were very steep which would present a problem for some older or disabled people. The breakfast options were limited and there is no where near to buy breakfast. However I mentioned that to the owner and she said she would upgrade breakfast choices which pleased me and showed she was responsive to the people who stayed there.

Room Tip: This place had Wifi but not in the room. It was available downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    21
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
31
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Run down and dirty, bathrooms and bedding and towels were clean but kitchen counters were sticky greasy, furniture was worn out and dirty and needed to be redone. The sister b&b is a much better place and would recommended it over Bluebird any day.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, Belize
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I guess is was quaint but I was not impressed. Upon arrival a 1/2 hour early there was only a cleaning lady in the kitchen, who when spoken to said Hi - that is it. 45 minutes later we went back to her and said " we were wanting to check in". She then said oh you can go to your room. We never did see anyone else. The place was clean but well worn furniture and had that musty old house smell. The Beverly Cleary room had a private bath but not easy to use as no vanity. The plus was the location, near family we were visiting and the price was reasonable. They had a number of choices for do it yourself breakfast, even some good glutton free muffins.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDaysInBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed at the Bluebird Guesthouse for two nights, one night in the Garcia Room and one night in the Beverly Cleary room. I had to change rooms because it was a last-minute booking, but the change was painless - all I had to do was leave my suitcase in the room when I left the first morning and when I got back it was waiting for me in the second room. The Bluebird Guesthouse is not a B&B - you make your own breakfast from a very good selection of foods left in the fully-equipped kitchen (including gluten-free selections). The two rooms I stayed in both had king beds and private baths. Both rooms were spacious and comfortable, if somewhat basic - the Garcia room was quieter because it is the back of the first floor of the house; however, I slept very well in both rooms. The rate for both rooms is very reasonable ($120). Other rooms in the house have shared baths so the rate is even lower. There is a computer for your use should you wish. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, pleasant place to stay in a very interesting older house in the middle of one of Portland's typical bustling neighbourhoods with loads of restaurants, coffee shops, micro-breweries etc, then the Bluebird is for you.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the house are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OffTrackCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, CA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My girlfriend and I visited my sister in Portland for a week, so my folks treated us to the "best room in the house" -- the Beverly Cleary room -- at the Bluebird Guesthouse in Portland's Hawthorne district. Our room was upstairs, directly above the house's front entrance, and it had its own bathroom (which is a MUST, in my opinion!). The staff was very friendly, and kept the house spotless and in good working order. The house has an upstairs and a basement, both with several bedrooms and bathrooms. They have a shared/common area kitchen, fully equipped with all the appliances, pots, pans, silverware, dishes, etc. that you'd need to cook your own food. (You're responsible for washing your own dishes, though.) They also offer complimentary fruit, muffins and bagels (bought fresh daily!). You can store your own groceries in their fridge and shelves, and eat/cook it as needed during your stay. They also have several chairs/couches/tables/lamps throughout the house, if you want to just sit and relax/read/play cards/chit-chat for a bit.

PROS:
Old architecture, friendly staff, peaceful "homey" environment, lots of comfortable furniture, free street parking, free snacks, free WiFi, lots of plants/flowers/trees, and walkable to anywhere in the Hawthorne district. If you get the Beverly Cleary room upstairs, you can open/close your windows and adjust your room's temperature as needed.

CONS:
Because it's an old house, there's a chance you'll hear EVERY squeaky floorboard / door hinge / stair step. If someone decides to roll in at 3:00 AM, you'll likely hear the front door open and close, and you'll hear that person's footsteps across the floors and up/down the stairs. (I visited in the dead of winter, so thankfully there weren't many people coming and going.) Some fool tugged on the dumbwaiter-style pocket door rope near the stairwell in the middle of the night and woke me up out of a dead sleep. If you don't have a room with your own bathroom, then you might be competing with other guests for one. Maybe it's available, maybe it's not -- roll the dice! You can always go upstairs or downstairs to another bathroom, though. Although we had our own bathroom with a pedestal sink and toilet, our shower was SMALL.

Room Tip: Get the Beverly Cleary room upstairs -- it has its own bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freebiegrabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We enjoyed our six-night stay and the charming location. Very comfy linens, mattress, pillows, blankets and bath robes! Enjoyed the make-your-own-breakfast and make-your-own-conversation feature, as I usually loathe the breakfast chat at most b&b's! One tip to the owners would be to include some more info for guests on your website about how to get around the neighborhood on foot/by bus and where to shop locally for groceries, since the breakfast selection is somewhat limited to Carbs - delicious carbs, but still.......... we grabbed protein (second) breakfasts at the nearby Hazel Room on Hawthorne.

Our basement room was adjacent to the laundry room and the beep beep beeping of the machines was not always welcome. The Inn was almost fully occupied during our stay and sometimes there was a wait for a bathroom - but nothing too too terrible. I would have sprung for the pricier room with bath included, but none were available.

Room Tip: Might want to avoid the basement rooms unless you are on a super tight budget and/or no other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phloxMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Me and my best friend just got off a 21 hour Amtrak trip from Salinas to Portland, neither of us had much sleep. Got a cab ride to the house. Beautiful old 1900's home that has the charm and warmth you will not find in any newer home. we rented two separate bedrooms. There were a couple of guys sitting at the dining table on their computers, very friendly people! We walked to a great brewpub down the street and had dinner. We got back in our rooms and now it's 8:30pm and I was just ready to collapse! At 9:00, a bunch of 20 somethings (they sounded really young!) came in to the sitting area and they were LOUD! Laughing, speaking loudly running up the staircase to the other adjacent rooms and back down again. I just thought OMG!! This is gonna suck! I waited in hopes they would quiet down before 9 but nope. Called the owner and he said "It's barely 9pm!" But he said he would come by and talk to them. Finally they left around 10 and I slept really well. But this is a GUESTHOUSE where one expects a bit of peace and quiet! It's not a party house, come on! Will stay there again, loved having access to a real kitchen! But will let them know that hey, after 9pm, people should try and keep the voices and noise down.

Room Tip: Just about any room is great! If you are really sensitive to street noise, stay in one of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 142 in Portland
1,045 reviews
Jupiter Hotel
#64 of 142 in Portland
549 reviews
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 142 in Portland
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,697 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 142 in Portland
1,207 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebird Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebird Guesthouse

Property: Bluebird Guesthouse
Address: 3517 SE Division St, Portland, OR 97202-1567
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Portland experience in one of Southeast PDX's most visited neighborhoods. Intelligently combining Old Portland warmth with modern amenities, we offer a stay blending the best of a boutique hotel with a modern bed & breakfast inn. Forget any antiquated notions of over-bearing hosts, while friendly staff are available for any requests and to chat you will feel like it is your space... an optimal balance of hospitality and privacy. Well reviewed, clean and a short walk to the amazing Division / Clinton restaurant scene. Close by are Hawthorne & Belmont, while Downtown, Sellwood, Reed College, Eastmoreland / Westmoreland, Woodstock, Stark, etc. are 10 - 15 minute drives. Some of the included amenities: fast gigabit wi-fi, guest computer, laundry facility, continental breakfast & use of the kitchen. Visit our website for more details and to make instant reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bluebird Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing