We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GIRLS NIGHT OUT”
Review of Darcelle's XV

Darcelle's XV
Ranked #7 of 214 Nightlife in Portland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In business since 1967 and run by Portland's best-loved cross-dresser, this cabaret is a campy Portland institution with a female-impersonator show that has been a huge hit for years.
Hubbard, Oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“GIRLS NIGHT OUT”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I have gone to this show several times.
The Racier the better... so better go to the later show.
Early show is quite tame.
The men of paradise come out after Darcelle which makes this
the perfect place to take a bachlorette.
I love to sit up front so that I can tip the dancers and feel more involved.
Better have a designated driver for this one lol
Love your show Darcelle

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank daphne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnham on Sea, Somerset
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A Fun Night Out!”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I went with friends whilst visiting Portland, I had no expectations and spent the night watching and laughing at the great entertainment. It's rude, flamboyant, great fun and I had a blast. Be prepared to have your photo taken with Darcelle XV and if you want a copy it's $5, no pressure to buy though. There is a 2 drink minimum per person, but go with the flow, it's not expensive to get in, $15 on a Thursday night. There is some parking next door $5, may get busy on weekends though. You may get picked on for audience participation, it's light hearted so just have fun. I really enjoyed the evening and would recommend this for a fun night out, but it's not suitable for those who don't like swearing, crude jokes and expect 5 star lip synching.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PJBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss Latin Look Oregon/Portland 2012 (Darcelle)”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Indeed I said: I will write a review of this event, “Miss Latin Look Oregon/Portland 2012”. Not doubts, the quality of the presentations to these events have increased since the last time I sat in one of those Darcelle’s chairs. The costumes and performances have become more professional which translates the seriousness and efforts contestants have put into the preparation of their shows.
One unanswered question stands over many, “Why do we have to degrade or put in any risk at all, the quality of a show, some have been working hard to present, and others have paid to see, with a hostess like Micha?”. There is always a limit for everything and evidently she does not know anything about such a thing.
Moving on……………………………
The performances this year were exceptional. Unfortunately, I cannot devote a paragraph to each of them. But, I think we all agreed that this review would not fly without mentioning: the wonderful traditional dance of contestant No.5, the outstanding duet of contestant No.4 and the speechless assortment of Jenny Rivera from contestant No.3.
Congratulations Zonia and Sofía! Thank you Darcelle, and David. Thank you to all the contestants for the wonderful night.
Thank you Candela LaPierre, Bebé, Fernando Avíla (Mr. Latin Oregon 2011) and Evelyn Welch (Miss Latin Oregon 2011) for contributing your talent to this event.
Let’s do it all again, next year!




En efecto, dije que escribiría una reseña de este evento, “Miss Latin Look Oregon/Portland 2012”. Sin dudas la calidad de las presentaciones a estos eventos ha incrementado desde la última vez que me senté en una de las sillas de Darcelle. El profesionalismo de los vestuarios y las actuaciones traduce la seriedad y el esfuerzo que los concursantes han puesto en la preparación de sus presentaciones.
Una pregunta, dentro de muchas otras sin respuesta sobresale ¿Por qué tenemos que degradar o poner en riesgo, la calidad de una evento que algunos han trabajado duro para presentar y que otros han pagado para ver, con una anfitriona como Micha? Existen los límites, aunque evidentemente ella no se entere.
Volviendo al evento………………..
Las actuaciones de este año fueron excepcionales. Desafortunadamente no puedo dedicar a cada una de ellas el párrafo que merecen. Pero creo, como todos que esta reseña no tendría valor sino mencionamos: la maravillosa danza tradicional de la concursante No.5, el sobresaliente dúo de la concursante No.4 y el popurrí de Jenny Rivera de la concursante No.3 que nos dejó a todos estupefactos.
¡Felicidades Zonia y Sofía! Gracias Darcelle y David. Gracias a todos los concursantes por la maravillosa velada.
Gracias Candela LaPierre, Bebé, Fernando Avíla (Mr. Latin Look Oregon 2011) y Evelyn Welch (Miss, Latin Look Oregon 2011) por contribuir con su talento a este evento.
¿Qué tal si lo hacemos una vez más? El próximo año

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gay-Night-Out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fun night out”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This was a blast although I think
It would be even more fun on a Friday or
Saturday night when more people come and and the show turns more risky at midnight! Definitely something fun to do on a girls night out or with whoever wants to go! Expect to pay a decent amount drinks and enjoy!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank angelat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luv It!”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

When I visited this place I was overwhelmed. Great shows. The performers were crazy. Was like I had stepped into a period of time I had missed. The hostess was very friendly and accommodating.

Helpful?
2 Thank hudsonman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darcelle's XV also viewed

 

Been to Darcelle's XV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing