We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in the area.”
Review of Aladdin Theater

Aladdin Theater
Ranked #81 of 442 things to do in Portland
Attraction details
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
295 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“One of the best in the area.”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I love this place. It's been around forever. It's in a nice enough neighborhood. The sound quality does the trick and the space is very cool and lush, in my opinion. As a theatre should be. Anyhow, I've seen some very memorable shows here and it's a venue staple for sure.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaptainAwethume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great venue with easy access”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The venue was perfect for the Zombies concert (awesome!) in August 2013. Easy parking within walking distance, food and drink from their bar can be enjoyed in the theater, and good mellow crowd control so all have a great time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank howsabouttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Ozomatli sounded great in this theater”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Very old funky movie theater now hosts music. It makes for an intimate experience with artists. I love the ceiling and the fact that they haven't removed all the charm of an old building. People who work there seem to like what they are doing which makes the atmosphere even more fun. The sound is fantastic.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CPearce2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vashon Island, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent venue”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Recently caught Richard Thompson at the Aladdin. Well worth the drive from Seattle. Great beer....decent pizza.... and you can take it all into the theater. Great that there is a cool bar next door so you can get a drink while someone in your party holds your place in line and then shift spots. They go to the bar while you stand in line. Took the bus from downtown directly to the theater, very convienent. Great old theater that unfortunately would have been torn down long ago if had been in Seattle. Cudos to Portland for preserving it's old buildings the way it does. Will definately be going back

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Islandish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Aladdin Theater - Great Venue for performances”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Just this past week I was able experience on of the greatest jazz vocal groups in a live performance at the Aladdin Theater in Portland, OR. The Manhattan Transfer were in town for a one-night performance at the Aladdin. Once home to the early vaudeville shows and later movies, the theater has that ambience of the early days of movies. The one thing I did notice (this was my first time at the Aladdin) is it is in need for a restoration and renovation. The seats really were "well worn" and in need for renovating.

This theater is ideal for small concerts. It was like we were in a living room with the group. The stage area probably would not accommodate a large band or orchestra, but is ideally suited to smaller performances. The theater seats 600 on a main level and balcony level.

Looking at their schedule one can select from a wide variety of performances. If you are looking for something other than the big performances or shows in Portland, this is a great alternative. The location is easy to get to, right off SE Powell Blvd at SE Milwaukie. Be aware of parking challenges associated with the theater. Many folks park in the nearby neighborhood areas.

Great venue for smaller shows and performances.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aladdin Theater also viewed

 

Been to Aladdin Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing