We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, great value and awesome location- with an outdoor pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #80 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice place, great value and awesome location- with an outdoor pool!”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We were in Portland on business with Portland State University and this property happens to be owned by that school. Located on campus it is close to the museum and block parks, has easy access to public transit and is within walking distance of a really nice section of downtown Portland.
Our room was lovely. Overlooking the courtyard and pool, it was well appointed and clean. Though obviously not new, it is suitable for any traveler(s) looking for a good value in a terrific location on campus. It is close to affordable restaurants and the outdoor pool area makes it a great choice for families with children. Of course, understand that this is a school campus so there may be college students present. Typically that could mean noise issues - but we did not encounter any problems on that level - even after passing half of a football team in the hall. The staff was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: I'll suggest that the poolside (inner) rooms might be quieter than outer rooms due to a reasonab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    140
    151
    73
    54
See reviews for
109
112
56
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Requested a quiet room because I was having surgery at OHSO and was going to need a night to recover. I got a room with a giant noisy machine directly outside the room. Next I had purchased the manditory parking passes for $12 dollars a night and WAS STILL TICKETED $80 dollars by the parking enforcement. The staff started an argument with me over the parking dispute even though they charged the parking passes on my AMEX. Remember, I had just under gone surgery for my inner ear. I was in no shape to properly defend myself and they took complete advantage of me and the situation. I called the police and my attorneys. I am never staying there AGAIN. If you are going to the hospital for any procedure and need to spend the night, DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tws1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portland hotels

San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Nice hotel, good service, clean and quiet rooms. All common areas are kept clean and neat, nice breakfast buffet in morning, and even has clothes washer/dryer for guest use.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mondo_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Hotel was located very close to a food cart pod, and free transit to the downtown core. Hotel staff were always pleasant. Daily breakfast was included and was good if you needed something quick and had scrambled eggs something that some other chains don't provide.

Room was very large, modern coffee maker in room, along with microwave and frigde in our reservation. Could do with some updating, but otherwise would happily book here again for the price.

This property does not have in room wifi but does provide a lan cable to plug your laptop in to so you can work.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVSinecure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

PSU made reservations for me to stay here (I'm in town for a job interview) and I was kind of scared after I read the other reviews on TripAdvisor. Fortunately the hotel is much better than I'd feared. It's fine! The bed is super comfortable with nice linens and fluffy pillows. The room is a nice size. The only thing that really needs updating is the shower head. No, it isn't fancy-schmancy super modern, but it's comfortable, and the staff have been very helpful and polite. Also, I found the gift shop to be surprisingly reasonably priced for those emergency items I needed (aspirin, Band-Aids).

I was surprised to find a free hot breakfast (I'm from the South and that just doesn't happen down there... state laws or something) but I do agree that the quality was low. Unless you're a total cheapskate, it's a better idea to go out for breakfast.

Overall, however, I was very satisfied and would stay here again. Location can't be beat and my room was nice and quiet, a huge plus in my book. Too often before a job interview I can't sleep because of some weird noise in my hotel room, but that was definitely not a problem here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OkahumpkaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsburg, VA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

The hallway has a damp and musty smell, sort of like entering a basement that hasn't been inhabited for a long while, so that doesn't exactly set a good tone for this place. It is outdated and cries out for renovation. On the other hand, the staff is very nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We were sent to this place until our room at the Ronald Macdonald house. my daughter is ready to deliver and her baby will need an operation as soon as he is born. The heart specialist said to go there to wait. When we arrived the quilt on my bed had blood on it and not a little. The blanket underneath had white stuff on it and it was not milk!! They never cleaned the room the entire week we where there. We live 5 hours from there and we came home because we could not stand to be there anymore. we had to pay $25 for a microwave and a little fridge that froze everything. If you can avoid it do not go there.. Also it was $12 a day for parking.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank juanita_ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#50 of 142 in Portland
712 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#27 of 142 in Portland
1,934 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Place Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Place Hotel and Conference Center

Property: University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 310 SW Lincoln St, Portland State University, Portland, OR 97201-5007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Place Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable rooms and conference space with easy access to everything in downtown including Pioneer Square, Saturday Market, and Portland Art Museum. TriMet public transportation located right in front of the hotel. Outdoor seasonal pool, free WiFi and giant cookie upon check-in are just a few of our great amenities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your University Place Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Place Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing