We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dingier than average, somewhere between a Motel 6 & a Comfort Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #78 of 141 Hotels in Portland
1 review
“A little dingier than average, somewhere between a Motel 6 & a Comfort Inn”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I think it's important to keep in mind that this is a university-owned hotel, and running/upkeeping a hotel is not a university's top priority. That being said, I'm trying to rate it alongside any other normal hotel. To me, a Comfort Inn is an average hotel, and the cleanliness and upkeep at University Place is just a step below that of a Comfort Inn or comparable kind of hotel, so I rated it as 'poor,' but it's right on the cusp of poor & average. It's pretty standard in terms of average, boring hotel decor, but the cleanliness and quality of everything from carpets to walls to sheets to bathroom to tv reception is on the dingy, worn side. The sheets & pillowcases themselves are obviously fresh and clean, but there are mysterious (I don't want to know) spots on the blankets & bedcovers that makes it pretty obvious those are not cleaned between each visitor, so I just tossed them on the floor. The tv is flatscreen but gets grainy reception. There are shower amenities unused & new towels, but a shampoo bottle left half-used and I wonder about the drinking glasses. As I said, it's got standard stuff, just on the dingy side. If you're an average person who's just looking for a place to sleep and you don't care about having a really nice hotel room, then you can't beat this place for the price ($60-70 a night in SW Portland is cheap!) And if you have business at PSU or OHSU, you can't beat the proximity. BUT if you're looking for nice, modern rooms or a vacation hotel, or if you're looking for an extremely clean place, look somewhere else. I'm a bit of a germophobe and I would say this place definitely makes me question the level of cleanliness of the amenities, but it's do-able if you're not freaked out by used shampoo bottles or a couple small holes in the sheets. Would recommend for one-night, unfussy travelers, but not for a vacation, luxury stay, or long stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesseAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    135
    148
    71
    52
See reviews for
103
110
55
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I am writing this from a room in this hotel via a wireless Internet connection on an iPhone...point 1!

I really can't understand why people are moaning about this place. Rooms are pretty decent, front desk really helpful and just a short walk from downtown. For what you pay this is great value for money. I can speak from experience having travelled the world and stayed in hotels at both ends of the scale. I also work in the industry! Seriously...if you want the Ritz you will pay for the Ritz!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I can see where if you had a courtyard room this might be a nice enough place to stay, but my room was dark and smelly (room 171, if management is reading) with worn-out furnishings and a horrible TV selection - unless your idea of news is what Fox puts out.

The breakfast buffet is good, but served on cheap paper and plastic, in a facility owned by a university that prides itself on its "green" credentials, in a city that is famous for its environmental creds.

It's also on the extreme far end of downtown, so anything interesting is blocks away.

No restaurant, no bar, and very little within walking distance.

If PSU wants to be serious about running a hotel - and lots of schools run excellent ones - they have to do better than this.

Not impressed, and will make sure my corporate travel desk knows what a dump this worn-out Red Lion hotel is.

Room Tip: Insist on a room overlooking the courtyard or parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalangdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portland hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We were in Portland on business with Portland State University and this property happens to be owned by that school. Located on campus it is close to the museum and block parks, has easy access to public transit and is within walking distance of a really nice section of downtown Portland.
Our room was lovely. Overlooking the courtyard and pool, it was well appointed and clean. Though obviously not new, it is suitable for any traveler(s) looking for a good value in a terrific location on campus. It is close to affordable restaurants and the outdoor pool area makes it a great choice for families with children. Of course, understand that this is a school campus so there may be college students present. Typically that could mean noise issues - but we did not encounter any problems on that level - even after passing half of a football team in the hall. The staff was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: I'll suggest that the poolside (inner) rooms might be quieter than outer rooms due to a reasonab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Requested a quiet room because I was having surgery at OHSO and was going to need a night to recover. I got a room with a giant noisy machine directly outside the room. Next I had purchased the manditory parking passes for $12 dollars a night and WAS STILL TICKETED $80 dollars by the parking enforcement. The staff started an argument with me over the parking dispute even though they charged the parking passes on my AMEX. Remember, I had just under gone surgery for my inner ear. I was in no shape to properly defend myself and they took complete advantage of me and the situation. I called the police and my attorneys. I am never staying there AGAIN. If you are going to the hospital for any procedure and need to spend the night, DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tws1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Nice hotel, good service, clean and quiet rooms. All common areas are kept clean and neat, nice breakfast buffet in morning, and even has clothes washer/dryer for guest use.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mondo_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Hotel was located very close to a food cart pod, and free transit to the downtown core. Hotel staff were always pleasant. Daily breakfast was included and was good if you needed something quick and had scrambled eggs something that some other chains don't provide.

Room was very large, modern coffee maker in room, along with microwave and frigde in our reservation. Could do with some updating, but otherwise would happily book here again for the price.

This property does not have in room wifi but does provide a lan cable to plug your laptop in to so you can work.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVSinecure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#46 of 141 in Portland
704 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#26 of 141 in Portland
1,920 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Place Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Place Hotel and Conference Center

Property: University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 310 SW Lincoln St, Portland State University, Portland, OR 97201-5007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Place Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable rooms and conference space with easy access to everything in downtown including Pioneer Square, Saturday Market, and Portland Art Museum. TriMet public transportation located right in front of the hotel. Outdoor seasonal pool, free WiFi and giant cookie upon check-in are just a few of our great amenities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your University Place Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Place Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing