We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Even Consider This Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
Ranked #92 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Someone told me that this hotel is a bargain. My mistake for staying here. Front desk staff was friendly. My room 134 smelled old and mildewy. The carpet was filthy. Even though they are no smoking rooms, people sat on the stairs outside and smoked. The smoke came into my room. Breakfast was a very greasy sausage patty. There is a Jim Dandy burger joint a short walk from the hotel, but it closes early. Ispend your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Can't recommend staying here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank chris1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMor179, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. I apologies for our other guest not being considerate of those in close proximity to them. We are a 100% non smoking. There are designated outside smoking areas. We will make sure that in future the staff does their property walks on a more frequent basis, which will eliminate this problem. The staff and I pride ourselves in our hotel, and we will make sure that our preventive maintenance is more diligent. Thank you for shedding light on the issues with your room.
Our breakfast offers a wide spread of items such as: sausage patties, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, make your own waffles, yogurt, pastries, non-sweet breads, variety oatmeal, juice, coffee, tea.
There are multiple restaurants within close proximity of our establishment; Jim Dandy’s is one of the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

Loved our king room and how the toilet was separate from shower. Newly remodeled and very comfy. Staff was friendly but they don't accept prepaid debit cards, even with a cash deposit. Won't be back for that reason as we refuse to have credit cards.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parentsof5kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMor179, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel while on your travels. It is always good to hear that a guest enjoyed their stay.

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Just leaving after a nine day stay. The hotel is an older motel type with multiple buildings. The rooms are very updated, with nice bathrooms and very comfy beds. The room was very clean, no smell, and I loved the window that actually opens! The breakfast was the usual, sausage, eggs, make your own waffles, bread items, cereal and yogurt, juices and coffee and tea. Coffee in lobby 24 hours. Free newspapers. Nice flat screen tv, nice mini fridge and microwave. Wifi was great. The pool is not open until may, but it looked very nice. I visit the area often and would stay here again, can't beat the price. Be aware that the second floor rooms are accessible by stairs only, so if you have a problem lugging your bags up stairs, opt for a first floor room. The train into the city of portland is only steps away, very convenient. Very convenient to airport. The hotel staff was very friendly and did a great job.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMor179, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Glad to hear your extended stay was comfortable and a pleasurable one.
Thank you for your feedback.
We hope to see you the next time your here in Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I booke our family at this hotel because of all the great reviews. While the hotel itself wasnt BAD, it wasnt special in any way either. The rooms were okay, the beds Relatively comfortable, but not special. The faucets in the bathroom were loose and creaky, the carpet a little sticky. IN general, we felt like it was a dressed up and cleaned up standard motel- just a place to lay your head. We DID have helpful service to the airport, and that was nice, but we stayed at other places that were nicer and had the same level of service, with better amenities and rooms.

The breakfast that people have raved about was a disappointment. Nothing special here: cereals, yogurt, scrambled eggs and make your own waffles. Again: not BAD, but not great either. In the end, we chose the hotel because of its absolute convenience to the MAX line that takes you into Portland or the airport. THAT was truly great. Next time, If we get a good rate, we MAY return, but otherwise, we would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMor179, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel, as you were on your travels.
The hotel is convenient to the MAX line which is a wonderful convenience!
Your feedback is helpful to our establishment, and we appreciate you taking the time to reflect on your stay, I will make sure that the faucet and carpets are addressed.
We do hope that your next time in Portland will be spent with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My biggest objection to this room was the smell. Too much like cleaning fluid or something. I was glad that the window opened and that we had arrived late so that the planes were not taking off frequently. The hotel is not convenient to the Tri-Met. You need to go from the city all the way to the airport and then catch a shuttle which takes you two stops back. I was pretty tired, so I would rather have stayed at a more convenient hotel like the Marriott Courtyard, which looked like you could walk to from the Tri-met. Staff was courteous. Bed was fine. Very nice that they had breakfast out there super-early for our morning flight. Shuttle staff were courteous, too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank National_park_fan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMor179, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Here at the Quality Inn & Suites / Rodeway Inn, we are located directly in front of the MAX Parkrose / Sumner Station. My apologies that the directions were not clarified by our staff. It is within less than a block which is a wonderful convenience.
I hope that in future, you will choose to stay with us again.
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Pulling into driveway you might be let down by the older style and location but both were deceiving in a good way. Incredible staff with comfortable beds and updated rooms and bathrooms. Top notch with a airport shuttle which is scheduled in the mornings and on availability in the afternoons/evenings

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kavinsfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMor179, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Sometimes looks can be deceiving. We thank you for giving our hotel a chance, and are glad you stayed with us. We look forward to serving you in the future! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I call this place the 3 C's! Clean! Convenient! Courteous employees! What else needs to be said? It's also close to the freeway onramps and PDX is close by. 24 Hr. Shuttle service to/from the airport and off site rent a car places.

24 Hour coffee and snack service in the lobby. Also available is a desktop giving you the opportunity to check in to your flights or find a restaurant close by.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the 2nd floor. You eliminate the noise and headlights of autos parking at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMor179, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Every department works hard to make sure that those three c’s are always met.
We value every guest, and we thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Portland Airport
2.8 mi away
Ramada Portland
Ramada Portland
#78 of 144 in Portland
943 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Airport

Address: 9727 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-4226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £50 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This upscale hotel boasts executive guest rooms and luxury suites which are beautifully appointed with deluxe pillow-top mattresses, tasteful armoire enclosures for televisions, granite shower surrounds and countertops, and chairs with ottomans for relaxing. All rooms come equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and European-style coffee makers. Each guest will be able to enjoy our full hot Breakfast served in the morning, with build your own waffles, hot biscuits and gravey, scrambled eggs, sausage links, yogurt and much more. During the summer months make sure to stop by our sparkiling outdoor pool that is open daily from 10am-10pm. You will notice and experience something different at the Quality Inn & Suites Airport Convention Center. The warm and friendly staff provides superior guest service. Let us exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Airport Hotel Portland
Quality Inn And Suites Airport Convention Center
Quality Inn Hotel Airport
Quality Inn Portland
Portland Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing