We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed the mark”
Review of Briarwood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Briarwood Suites
Ranked #109 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Carson City, NV
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Missed the mark”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The place is fairly clean and has the infrastructure of a good room layout, however, it is worn and broken down. The refrigerator and microwave did not work... no matter what I was told to do. The towels I finally got were still wet. The internet was up and down and could not be stabalized. The door had been busted in and was only barely tacked back in place. While I was pleased that the place was quiet, the neighborhood is very mixed and the street is a rather busy. I felt safe, but I wouldn't walk the neighborhood at night. I had numerous family members trying to use this place as a home base for a funeral. A couple of the high-end family members simply didn't check in. While the reservation staff were VERY helpful, the owner wanted to charge for a one hour late checkout, despite the fact I had brought 7 families to stay there. Ridiculous!

Room Tip: Don't get the rooms at the top of the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kandnico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    6
    11
    8
    14
See reviews for
17
9
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The big Boss Nich(Nick) is a hard working but great character. Teresa is amazingly sweet n informative. Ray is very handy n patient n Fabricio is a master of grave-yard shift. I feel that this short stay in Briarwood Suites is going to last LONG~!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWcomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Staff is not friendly. The hotel is chargIng too expensive for what they offer and is located in bad area with so many crime. Room is not clean with a lot of flies inside. I would never return to such hotel or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portland hotels

mcminnville
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed at Briarwood Suites for one night while enjoying the Portland attractions and was very pleased with how CLEAN and COMFORTABLE the room was. The location of the Hotel was ideal. The staff was GREAT! They made my two teenagers and I feel right at home inviting us in from parking lot for coffee and continental breakfast. The staff also was great in giving directions and ideas for meals! We will return!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This hotel in SE Portland is the best value I have found in the city. It is not fancy, and has minimal amenities, but the rooms are clean and the facilities were all functional. The carpets along the exterior breezeways are worn and need replacement, and the decor in the rooms is a bit outdated, but functional. I did not avail myself of the "Continental Breakfast" which was some marginal looking rolls and muffins, plus the standard coffee. The people at the front desk were very helpful, polite, and courteous. The neighborhood is a little rundown, but I did not feel insecure staying at this hotel. If you are looking for a clean and inexpensive place to sleep when you visit Portland, and don't want anything fancy, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppylinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and the room was very clean and big. Beds were very comfortable too. The staff was very nice and approachable. They helped us to map out our daily attractions by seeing places which were within the same area. This was great cause we got to see alot with their help.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sympin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

If you are looking for concierge service, valet parking or designer soaps, this is not your choice. If you want spacious rooms, free parking, courteous service and a modest price the Briarwood Suites may be what you are looking for.
The room was clean and quiet. It is true that although a coffee maker is provided, you need to bring your own coffee. The fridge and microwave were clean and worked well, and although the linens were well used, clean and fresh.
Certainly a consideration when looking for an economical stay in Portland.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank soarctic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.8 mi away
Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205
1.8 mi away
Ramada Portland
Ramada Portland
#71 of 143 in Portland
884 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Portland Central
Days Inn Portland Central
#100 of 143 in Portland
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
3.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Portland Airport
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Portland
Comfort Inn Portland
#61 of 143 in Portland
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarwood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarwood Suites

Property: Briarwood Suites
Address: 7740 SE Powell Blvd, Portland, OR 97206-2349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarwood Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are sure to make you comfortable while away from home. All our rooms have the following: refridgerator, microwave, hair dryers, free local calls, free hi-speed wireless internet access, a 25" t.v., and cable television with HBO. We serve a complimentary breakfast daily from 7:00am until 10:00am, and have free newspapers available in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Briarwood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarwood Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing