We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Ranked #5 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was my first visit to Portland and and so the first at this hotel. I stayed two nights at this apparently brand new Residence Inn in the Pearl District while on vacation during Memorial Day weekend 2014. Rooms were impressive, even better than you expect for a Residence Inn. Very quiet inside the building. The free breakfast was superior and the staff was friendly and helpful with suggestions on places to eat and sights to see.The hotel's location is great for walking the city. I had a very good experience and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Wow- thank you for your wonderful "5 star review" on our hotel. We are excited that we exceeded your expectations and that your room was clean, up to date and well maintained. I am so pleased to hear that everything was quiet and that the staff was nice and efficient. We pride ourselves on our guest service and glad to hear that it met your expectations. We will look forward to having you back as a guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

First time staying at this location and it quickly is becomming a favorite in Portland. The Pearl District location is great, with a variety of restaurants within walking distance. It is a newer location with a modern feel, but also very quiet - you do not get the traditional "heard of elephants" walking around overhead that is typical of many Residence Inns. Would highly recommend trying it out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jimed323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to give feedback on our Residence Inn Portland Downtown Pearl District Hotel. We are happy to hear that it was convenient and that the room was nice and quiet. Please visit us again if your travels bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We are so happy we booked this hotel. We wanted to check out Portland for the first time and staying in the Pearl District was such a good choice. This hotel is close to lots of shopping (Powell Books) and lots of great food: Byways Cafe (a diner with a conscience), Oba (Latin fusion with an upscale feel, but still accessible (they had a kids menu) and Cool Moon Ice Cream (lots of yummy, funky flavors and right across the street from Jamison Square Fountain.) There was also a little mini mart is just down the street. We walked everywhere, even though we noticed lots of public transportation.

We stayed in a king studio; there was a large sectional sofa that had a pull out for our 8 year old son to sleep on comfortably. The king bed was very comfortable. The room was so clean (pretty much brand new, they opened earlier this spring.) The bathroom was nice; big walk in shower (they didn't provide a shampoo, just a Paul Mitchell conditioner) and there was no swing out lighted magnifying mirror (just a personal preference ;) .) There was a full kitchen with appliances, dishes and utensils.

The free continental breakfast was one of the best "free" breakfasts I've had (eggs, sausage, make your own waffle station, french toast, cereal, lots of fruit, yogurts, muffins/pastries, bagel station, oatmeal station, hard boiled eggs, and all necessary toppings.

The staff was friendly enough, nothing too exceptional though. The pool was under maintenance when we walked by, but it looked nice. The lobby opened to this cool looking courtyard with a fire pit and under cover seating. We did the valet parking, but we noticed there was plenty of parking on the street, that would've been cheaper. Check in/out was 3pm/12pm; more generous than the typical 4pm/11am you often see. When we come back to Portland we won't risk staying anywhere else...we've already found the perfect fit for our family!

Room Tip: The studio king (room 241) worked for our family of three (2 adults and an 8 year old) It still had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the positive comments and the 5 Star rating. We are so happy that you received friendly service, the room was clean, and you enjoyed our food in the restaurant. Feedback of any kind is the nourishment that lets us grow and we hope that we have the opportunity to have you back as guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We needed to attend a graduation in Portland and I was looking for a hotel where I could stay with my father (age 88). We stayed in a king suite, consisting of two rooms with bathrooms. It was perfect for my wife and I and my father. It is perfectly situated in the Pearl District, walking distance to restaurants and shops. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast that was included was okay, but nothing special. The only problem was the in-room coffee maker that wouldn't work.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to give feedback on our Residence Inn Portland Downtown Pearl District Hotel. We are happy to hear that it was convenient and that the staff was friendly and helpful. Please visit us again if your travels bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

What a find! Easy short walks to the many restaurants, art galleries and shopping venues of the Pearl, not to mention Powell's! The streetcar is a block away, and from it, you can reach any major TriMet or Max line. The block the hotel is situated on is quiet, even with the train station nearby. Common areas are modern and invite you to linger. Breakfast is the usual mix of hot and cold fare one expects at Marriott, but you can shop at Whole Foods a few short blocks away and prepare your own food in your well-appointed kitchen.

The rooms are spacious and modern, and we found we had plenty of space to spread out without feeling cramped or disorganized. The bed was very comfortable, and perhaps the only negative was the lack of blackout drapes to block the glow from the city streetlights. Of course, then we might have slept the mornings away! The hotel has many amenities that long-stay travelers will appreciate, like coin operated laundry, pool and health club, and outdoor areas with seating.

A tip - Public parking is available next door for a quarter of what you'd pay the hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very spacious and have windows on two sides, making them feel larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank docyjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to give feedback on our Residence Inn Portland Downtown Pearl District Hotel. We are happy to hear that it was convenient and we are excited that we exceeded your expectations and that your room was clean, up to date and well maintained. Please visit us again if your travels bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our family recently stayed for 2 nights at the Residence Inn Portland/Pearl District. We found the hotel to be clean, modern and comfortable We stayed in a first floor suite that had its own private patio that opened up to the courtyard and down the hall from the pool. The kids enjoyed the courtyard (playing Frisbee & soccer), while my husband and I could keep an eye on them from our patio. The staff was friendly and willing to accommodate our every need. The rooms were clean and well furnished. The beds were clean and comfortable. We did park across the street in the $8.00 per day parking lot. This hotel is located close to restaurants, shops and the Portland Streetcar/Max. We will definitely stay at this hotel again when returning to Portland.

Room Tip: We loved the first floor patio suites. Great access to the courtyard, fire pit, cabana, and BBQ.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the positive comments and the 5 Star rating. We are so happy that you received friendly and accommodating service, and that the room met your needs. We will look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a fresh stylish new property near transportation and activities. Stayed a night with the grandkids and everyone enjoyed the pool, the breakfast, and the free BBQ in the lovely lobby lounge/dining area. Staff was accommodating and well trained, and all facilities were spotless. Parked at nearby train station to save money, and rode the streetcar just for fun. No complaints at all! Highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Nan5049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the positive comments and the 5 Star rating. We are so happy that you received friendly service, the room was clean, and you enjoyed our food in the restaurant. Feedback of any kind is the nourishment that lets us grow and we hope that we have the opportunity to have you back as guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,595 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,838 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District

Address: 1150 NW 9th Ave, Portland, OR 97209-3583
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Pearl
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £127 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at the Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown/Pearl District. Our brand-new extended stay hotel in Portland, Oregon offers spacious and modern studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. Enjoy home cooked meals in your suite - you have a fully equipped kitchen at your disposal, and we provide complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator - or take advantage of our hotel's free hot breakfast every morning. If your extended stay is business related, you'll have excellent perks including free Internet access at your disposal. Our hotel also offers a modern fitness center and evening social hours, to allow you to get to know your fellow hotel guests. And our superb Pearl District location puts the very best of downtown Portland, Oregon at your fingertips. Whether you're here for a few days, a few weeks, or an extended stay, the Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown/Pearl District will make sure that you thrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing