We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hipster hotel with lots of charm”
Review of Ace Hotel Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ace Hotel Portland
Ranked #60 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is the 2nd hotel I've stayed at in Portland. I'll definitely stay here again the next time I'm in town. It's a very unique hotel with it's own personality.

The location is great. It was really easy to walk, bike or public transit to wherever I needed to go. In fact, they have bikes you can use for free! The few they do have go quickly since it's first come first serve. So get there at 8am if you want one!

My room was comfortable, quiet and clean. You can't ask for more. The radio in the room has an aux hookup for your iPod so you can set your own mood. Also liked the cozy robes and Malin + Goetz Bath products.

The other perk is the Stumptown that's attached to the lobby. It's pretty fantastic to walk down every morning to the smell of coffee.

The vibe is very down to earth and laid back. Its a bit hipster which can annoy some, but I liked it. Mostly friendly staff. Lots of places to chill. Free wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

If you like hanging out with the hippest people in town - get down to the ACE! This place was full of cool people. Met some amazing people just hanging around the hotel. In a great part of town with tonnes to do! Love this city! Three thumbs up!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I stayed here for a short night for business. Booked a back room with a claw foot tub (just like the tub) but ended up with a front room with a shower. Didn't realize it until I walked in of course but overall It was a super cute hotel...but I love ACE hotels. I ended up booking this with the OHSU discount and because of an error, they gave me an even larger discount! Which no way influences my review but definitely made me like them more because of their awesome customer service. I wanted to avoid traffic so I opted to take public transportation the entire time. The front desk was very helpful about public transportation and suggesting bus vs. rail. The shower was cute (in the room completely clear glass), smallest sink ever but made very functional, and just a cute room overall. would love to return to portland and stay there for a bit longer! The bed is comfortable enough (I was tired so it worked for me) and enough blankets to keep you warm. The bed is LOW to the ground, so if you have bad knees, that is the only ones I Would advise against. Went to Clyde Common for an amazing burger for dinner and Stumptown coffee in the morning. Overall I would recommend this to everyone. YES, they aren't super fancy, but they really try to revitalize used/older furniture. THe lampstand was a stack of old books, etc which I think is great as I like DIY ideas like that and is better than wasting money and polluting the earth with unwanted furniture. FYI, I love hotels and have very high standards for them,; all my friend would attest to my love of 5 star glamorous hotels and my splurges when i vacation, but ones like this (done well) are just as wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leiyeewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Fun place to stay for a couple of nights. The renovated Ace looks like it might have once been a flophouse or office space for a dozen sleazy private eyes. BUT the renovation has given the place a trendy new look that is comfortable if anti-lux. The rooms sit above one of Portland's best coffeehouses (Stumphouse) and a very popular, family-style restaurant (I forget the name) The neighborhood is full of great stores (Powell's Books), restaurants and other attractions. A fun place to stay, if you can get a reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueNWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I was really looking forward to staying at the Ace and I wasn't disappointed. The Ace turns up the hipster dial to 11: yes it's too cool for school, but that's what makes it fun! Good, design conscious rooms and clearly this is a steal compared to the Ace in NYC. The little features are cool: think turntables in the rooms, design magazines to flick through, and sure the queue is insane, but the Stumptown Coffee off the lobby is a great way to start the day. Portland is a great city full stop, but the location on the edge of the Pearl/Downtown means this is great for going out at night and for exploring in the day. Great hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tufnellparkandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed in a Standard room with private bathroom at the Ace Hotel. The room felt more like we were staying at a really cool friend's really cool bachelor apt, rather than a hotel, which we liked. The toilet was separated but the shower itself was in the room (with glass walls). This means there is no privacy for the person taking a shower - as we were travelling as a couple, this was ok, but may not be ideal for other travellers. We especially enjoyed the record player and vinyl available in the room and the bicycles that you can rent for free from the hotel. The location is central to tons of shops, bars, restaurants and the streetcar (which is also free within the downtown core). Right next to the hotel, there is a fantastic restaurant (Clyde Common), a great coffee shop (Stumptown) and amazing brunch spot for bagels & smoked salmon (Kenny & Zuke's). You can easily explore the other neighbourhoods, especially since the city is so bike-friendly. You can't go wrong at the Ace in Portland!

Room Tip: Some rooms face a brick wall - ask for a room facing the front or back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wokyan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The Ace is exactly what I was looking for in Portland. It's a stylish yet simple, very cozy place. The room is a bit spartan compared to most chain hotels, thank goodness!!! It has kept so much of the original look and feel, all the while being modern and comfortable. The location is perfect! Also, the restaurants within the building were quite good. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GayTravelGuyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,592 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#43 of 144 in Portland
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel Portland

Address: 1022 SW Stark St, Portland, OR 97205-2610
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £134 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ace Hotel Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, urbanized version of the welcoming country inn along a country lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ace Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing