We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ace is the Place”
Review of Ace Hotel Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ace Hotel Portland
Ranked #59 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ace is the Place”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We originally stayed at the Ace Hotel in Palm Springs, so when we were planning a weekend getaway to Portland, it was our first choice. First, as many reviews have mentioned, it is close to everything. We found Portland to be a very manageable city. The property itself boasts a large communal and comfortable lobby. The Ace Portland lobby is also adjacent to a Stumptown Roaster coffee shop, so it is very convenient to grab a cup of coffee, your tablet and relax in the lobby where great music is typically playing. The lobby also has a photo booth and offers easy access to Clyde Commons, a restaurant and bar on the opposite side of the lobby. Our room was the Superior Deluxe Back and it was large and long. It had both a comfortable rustic feel yet with industrial and modern accents. One of the accents to which we have become accustomed is the turntable and small record collection. The window covers were heavy sliding panels, as was the door to the bathroom. There were two worn, but super comfortable leather chairs, and two twin beds tucked into nooks at the opposite end of the room. The room actually sleeps four. Ace Hotels are intuitive and we haven't required much in the way of service, but the staff was friendly and helpful. We happened to be interested in the food scene in Portland and this hotel is walking distance to Tasty n Alder, Little Bird, Sizzle Pie, Lardo and a host of food trucks. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    172
    71
    33
    28
See reviews for
47
181
57
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

If you're visiting Portland, this is the kind of place you want to stay at. As a midwesterner, I like things that are intuitive and functional. This hotel had everything we needed. It had a communal breakfast room, cafe attached, a great lobby, plus you're in the middle of everything you need. You can walk just about anywhere you need to go (bars/stores/restaurants). The staff was very professional. The room was tiny but very functional. If you're the kind of person that spends time in their hotel room, I'm not sure it would work for you, but for a place to crash while you experience Portland, it was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milkovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

In real estate it's all about location and the Ace is close to everything. The bikes for rent in the lobby are the first indication you won't be needing a car. The other lobby features include a photo booth and lounging area. There's a little mezzanine library area that overlooks the lobby for additional hanging out. The front desk is tucked away; no sense in mixing commerce with pleasure. Stumptown Coffee and Clyde Commons flank each side with Kenny and Zook's handy, too. There are a dozen other excellent eateries and entertainment venues minutes away on foot, more by bike.
Rooms vary in size and budget. For our venture it was the Superior Front with lots of space to entertain, which we did with about 15 friends. The decor is spartan but functional. Huge bath done in classic white tile. Plenty of counter to set up the bar and lots of seating. The big bed is comfy and the room is bright and airy. The view from our room was anchored by Powell's Books and a Pearl district skyline. It's not the quietest property in PDX but nothing beyond the hum of the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was my fourth time staying at the Ace Hotel in Portland, it's a great relaxed hotel to stay in, the staff always very friendly and helpful. The rooms some people may think are small, but they are just right, our standard room was perfect for 2 people, we usually stay in the back rooms, they are nice and quiet. It's a clean hotel with a vintage modern feel. Love what Ace Hotel does with older buildings, gives them real character. Enjoy having Stumptown just off the lobby for that morning cup of coffee. The location is great you can walk to downtown and the Pearl District. Overall a great value. We will be staying with Ace again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is really a fantastic place to stay for a modest nights rent. The value was definitely there for what you pay.

The location absolutely cannot be beat. There's an amazing coffee place attached to the right, Stumptown. To the left there's a fantastic restaurant serving lunch and dinner, Clyde Common. CC is a local destination with fantastic and creative food. Yummy! The neighborhood is adorable - Steven Alan is across the street. But it's not just that, there's abundance of amazing food and shopping all over, all within a very short walking distance. Tons of food trucks a block away on 10th to boot!

The hotel is small and very boutique. It's an old building which was super charming. Add to it the Ace touch and the design is really fun and clever. It's got a welcoming common area on the ground floor where you can sit and hang. On the second floor that overlooks the lobby is another more quiet and private library space. They have bikes to take out when the weather is nice. .

I had a standard room. It wasn't huge but it was just me and I was fine with that. Even if my husband joined it still would have been fine. Not roomy, but fine. The hotel needs some love and definitely shows the wear and tear. But again at the price and being the Ace you know what to expect.

But the room had everything you need and everything worked great. The room stays dark (or super bright when you open the shade), the heat works perfect. Good shower. Comfy bed and pillows. Quite at night. It got cold outside and I was worried with the bed right up to the window that there would be a draft. But they had a thick draft stopper and with the shade the room stayed super cozy without any hints of cold air.

I got in around 11am and was able to get into a room right away too. Everyone was super nice and helpful.

Solid night stay for a decent price. Great design and location. Perfecto.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank trosubkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Ace is a bit pricey, but worth it.

The rooms, and the hotel in general, are truly unique, which add to the overall Portland vibe. The paintings on the wall, the blankets, the furnishings – all lovely and original. In our room, the glass shower was in the main room, as opposed to a separate bathroom, which I loved. (Though if you're travelling with a friend, it would probably be best to ask about that, heh.) Definitely no mistaking these rooms for a Holiday Inn.

Location could not be any better. Clyde Common, the restaurant/pub downstairs (and connected to the hotel) is fantastic -- with a ridiculous 3-hour "happy hour" from 3-6. Stumptown Coffee is right next door and Denny and Zuke's, a great breakfast place, is right next door to that. Across the street is Living Room Theatres. (Have a drink, watch a film!) Powell's Books and the Alder Street food carts are each a block away in opposite directions.

There is really no need to drive if you're staying in this area. That said, if you have time, I would highly recommend renting a car and driving east of the river to check out the restaurants, bars, record shops. Screen Door (southern food) and Pok Pok (Thai) are fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drea55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Loved the convenience of this hotel. I frequent the restaurants and bars of the New York Ace, and the attached restaurants and bars of the Portland Ace were comparable and excellent. However, the room itself was subpar. We had booked a junior suite, and were given the platform bed/glass shower version (there are three styles to choose from- we had requested one of the corner suites with city views). The platform bed is nothing more than a futon mattress on the wooden floor, which was three feet from the commode. While I may have delighted in this sleeping arrangement in college, as an adult paying for the pleasure, this was less than optimal. There was limited space to place luggage, cosmetics, etc. The shower, while roomy, fogged up the entire room, making it impossible for me to get ready while my husband showered. To top it off, the ceilings and door are not well insulated, making it sound as though an elephant were lumbering around above us all night. In the future, I would definitely utilize the amenities of this hotel, but book either another room or another hotel entirely.

Room Tip: The "platform bed/glass shower" junior suites are inconveniently arranged and have very un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crollernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#10 of 141 in Portland
1,381 reviews
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#42 of 141 in Portland
282 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 141 in Portland
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,361 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel Portland

Property: Ace Hotel Portland
Address: 1022 SW Stark St, Portland, OR 97205-2610
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ace Hotel Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, urbanized version of the welcoming country inn along a country lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ace Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing