We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lumberjack chic”
Review of Ace Hotel Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ace Hotel Portland
Ranked #62 of 143 Hotels in Portland
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lumberjack chic”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Ace Hotel Portland, made even more interesting in learning that a few scenes of 'Drugstore Cowboy' were filmed there. From the busy lobby with macbooks groaning on laps to the darkened hotel bar (complete with v quaffable cocktails), we felt that we had landed in Hackney under Mountain (we reside in the East of London)...all very seriously cool, young and modern. Our room was on the small side and slightly noisy though was both interestingly, artistically decorated and comfortable (bed especially). Breakfast was fabulous...very reasonably priced, great variety of fayre (including the most delicious granola) and take away to your room from just down the hallway. Portland was wonderful. Definitely one of our new favourite places in the US; friendly, liberal, eclectic with a backdrop of snow topped mountains... Stay at Ace if you want a vibrant bar and hip hip hipster ambience (even though it may sometimes seem a little contrived)

Room Tip: Take a room not facing the front if you sleep lightly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPassepartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    173
    71
    33
    29
See reviews for
48
183
57
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

First of all the location is great, easy walk to fun restaurants, bars and downtown events. But there are other hotels in downtown Portland. The Ace is very minimalist with stark rooms, long dark halls and strange room configuration. It felt like a hostel. I like hostels but not for $170.00 per night. The price climbs if you have a car. The parking option is a lot 2 blocks away for $25./ day. The lot is crammed with cars in very small spaces, maneuvering your car in and out is a test of agility and skill.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mythoughts83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Ace is in a great location within easy walking distance of the many cool restaurants, bars and shops of downtown Portland. I've used the word cool a lot in this review - and that's really what Ace is. From our hotel room with its newspaper plastered wall and old record player, to the fun old-school photo booth in the lobby. An added bonus is the Stumptown Coffee shop adjoining the hotel - simply great coffee and very knowledgeable and friendly baristas! A great tip from one of them was the Rum Bar we went to for cocktails - a taxi ride away but definitely worth it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I'd read the beds here weren't great, but mine was seriously comfortable. Also, street noise wasn't so bad from the fourth floor front. Staff were really helpful with cabs and recommendations, as was the umbrella in the room. Room service from restaurant Clyde Common was excellent. Had an Oregon IPA delivered right to my door! :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Becca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Yes, as other reviewers have mentioned before me, the rooms at Ace Hotel Portland are not the warmest (temperature-wise) out there. I guess it has to do with the hotel being in an old building. But I had a great sleep in the somewhat colder room.
The design of the hotel is marvellous: I loved it! Minimalistic chic, starting with the reception area: a place you want to hang out in all day. Our room was very well designed, with some 'strange' things compared to what you might be used to compared with other hotels (for instance the sink next to the bed in stead of in the bathroom), but it worked. And I loved the old fashioned bathtub, which had a great shower and lovely shampoo, etc. But yes, this is not a hotel for everybody, you have to be a bit into design to appreciate the rooms fully. This is not a regular hotel!
The location is very central. Just a few blocks away from the Pearl district, but also from the more downtown/shopping area. We could walk almost everywhere.
We also had a lovely dinner at the hotels' restaurant, Clyde Common. Great food.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharshankRedemption
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel is super hip and trendy, with a Stumptown Coffee shop adjoining, however our room was freezing cold! There were no curtains on our window, instead there was a sliding wooden door, which was pretty pointless, as a mean draft came licking in either side of the door right onto our bed. I had to use some extra pillows and two dressing gowns to block up the draughts - even still we had to sleep in our hoodies!

Room was clean and was a decent size, but not very relaxing place due to the cold. We had a free-standing bath in our room which was cool and the bed was really comfy too.

The Ace Hotel has a great location in downtown Portland - walking distance from Deschutes Brewery, Voodoo Donuts, and the Crystal Ballroom, as well as Nordstrom, etc. Staff were friendly too.

We stayed for three nights and ended up paying close to $600 - it totally wasn't worth that!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I had the opportunity to travel up to Portland for the first time to catch up with a good mate of mine who'd relocated there from our old stomping ground of Boston.

I arrived mid-December and kind of got the fact it would be cold - I was ready. But ending up in a room where the a/c simply did not work which meant the room maintained a constant 12C was pretty miserable for someone who'd flown out of a typical Brisbane summer.

It was kind of fun to have to dress up to go to bed - jeans, jumpers, jackets, and a beanie! But Sunday morning was brutal...In fact, it was warmer to go for a run along the Willamette River than stay in my room.

Credit to the front desk staff who tried to sort the issue - but bugger me the room was cold!

I may give the hotel another try later this year - but I'm inclined to want a guarantee the heating is working before I commit!

Room Tip: If you travel in winter - heating would be a nice addition!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 143 in Portland
1,489 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 143 in Portland
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 143 in Portland
1,411 reviews
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#43 of 143 in Portland
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel Portland

Property: Ace Hotel Portland
Address: 1022 SW Stark St, Portland, OR 97205-2610
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ace Hotel Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, urbanized version of the welcoming country inn along a country lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Ace Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing