We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointingly expensive” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ace Hotel Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ace Hotel Portland
Ranked #62 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Disappointingly expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

A touch of emperors new clothes about this one. Was quoted $275 dollars per night the final bill was $339 (tax and parking). No coffee machine and breakfast additional $10. Staff were nice enough, however worst value hotel of my trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    166
    68
    32
    28
See reviews for
47
175
52
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

From the moment we walked in the front door this hotel had a good vibe to it. The door staff and reception are all very welcoming. The lobby has monster couches, a huge coffee table and a photo booth. Very cool. A loft style computer area is in view of the lobby providing a laptop for use and free wifi. This historic hotel has kept true to its roots and ramped it up by going hipster. The rooms are simplistic with funky art painted on the walls and are super clean and very sound proof. The Stumptown coffee shop adjoining is a great place to start the day and the Clyde Common Bar next door is a fantastic spot for a late night (or early evening) drink. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of the waterfront, Voodoo Donuts, the Food Carts, Chinatown and Powells Book Store is on the next block. Parking was not available but a safe, secure location was recommended only two blocks down. On our third day my son rented a bike from the lobby and cruised the city. This was a fantastic find and we will definitley stay here next time we are in town.

Room Tip: Slept in a room at the front of the hotel on the second floor and it was very quiet. New windows blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel has a good vibe as has the city of a Portland. The hotel is pretty cool and quirky we had a suite on the 4th floor. The room was good rather than great, it was 90 degrees when we were there and that really tested the (old) air con system. Did not eat breakfast there but did have coffee and the coffee bar, and drinks at the bat, all very good. If you are looking for a Hip / Quirky hotel in Portland then the Ace is the place to book.

Room Tip: Get a room where you are not sharing bathroom facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Loved this hotel, despite myself!

I know, I know — the much-copied Ace style has become a cliche at this point, but it's so well done, beautiful and nicely thought out... you have to give them credit for applying a reverent eye and careful design touches to the old downtown Clyde SRO that so memorably appeared in "Drugstore Cowboy," as the home for the "most notorious dope fiend on the coast" Father Tom Murphy, played by William Burroughs. The attention to detail at this American gothic/goth/rusticana will inspire design aficionados, noob or no.

Yep, now it's thickly populated by all those so-called hipsters (they throng the lobby and the attached Stumptown Coffee at all hours — no joke) and art/design fiends, and the beds may be a mite too firm for some, but don't let that get you down. I was charmed through and through, by the artwork on the walls, the cute old-school-SRO sink in the bedroom (inconvenient if one of you is an earlier riser than the other, but who cares), the clawfoot tub, the weathered grunge-era-esque bathrobes, the fact you can borrow a record player from downstairs, the house music pumping early Sunday morning in the lobby, the shadowy, dark-wood mezzanine work area, the (MALIN+GOETZ) toiletries, the almost shockingly pleasant and helpful staffers and front deskies, etc. Our room faced the back so there was no view but I suspect the front-facing rooms weren't very noisy either.

All that said, the attached restaurant Clyde Commons is not quite all it's cracked up to be, foodwise, but whoa, DEFINITELY pony up $12 for the guests-only breakfast on the second floor. It's so delicious and worth it — complete with delectable smoked trout with creme fraiche and capers, fresh baked goods from the boutique bakery across Stark, wonderful oatmeal, and superfresh, local, yummy berries, preserves, honey, cherries, and pickles.

Plus, the location of the hotel — so close to Powell's Books, Tender Loving Empire, Boxer Ramen, an art-house cineplex, food trucks, and so many other great boutiques and eateries — makes this THE place to stay in Portland. (Another tip: wait for as long as you can to book — prices drop closer to your date, if there are vacancies.)

"I have nowhere else to go," as Burroughs, aka Father Tom Murphy, intones. Or if you'd rather, to quote Portland's Nike, just do it!

Room Tip: Stayed in back-facing room so you won't get view (just of a brick wall) but it's very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KME C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This boutique hotel is located in the Pearl District neighborhood of Portland, not far from the Powell Bookstore nor from the fabulous Chinese Garden. This is a cool and hip hotel, with friendly and very good-looking staff. The lobby looks great, with a large coffee table and vintage chairs and comfortable sofas all around. There is a coffee bar next to the lobby.

The room my partner and I stayed in was cosy, clean and beautifully designed, with an amazing white tiled bathroom (no bathtub, but with a large shower area). The hotel restaurant where we had lunch one day serves superb food. Our stay at the Ace hotel contributed to making our stay in Portland memorable. One of the best hotels we ever stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank french_guy_in_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
237 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a hippster place for sure and it feels like Portland..indie, quirky, hip, resourceful. innovative, and green (in the enviromentaly conscious sense). You feel this from the moment you walk into the lobby and it is reflected throughout the rooms, elevator, and restaurant. The rooms are really cool (9 types to choose from) and indie hip with odd but whimsical "murals" on the walls, mid century and retro (or other period) furniture, low beds, clawfoot tubs, books, recycled and refurbished lamps, shelves, tables, chairs etc...some rooms have record players and hardwood floors..most have mini bars stocked with locally procured items. Some rooms are more quiet than others (street facing can be noisy) and you can choose this at booking.

The location of the hotel is perfect.. right at the juncture of downtown, the pearl district, and northwest district. There are dozens of restaurants, bars, food carts, and shops within a few block radius of the hotel including Powell's Books which is a block down. Parking for the hotel is done on the street or at a parking lot nearby and there is very easy access to the 405 expressway.

We did not eat at the hotel's restaurant Clyde Common (wish we would have) as we arrived to late but it is very popular and one of the best in Portland and beneath Clyde is the Pepe Le Moko zinc bar...super cool!. We did however eat breakfast at the attached deli Kenny and Zukes. I had the Breakfast Dog with eggs, bacon and cheddar, and hash...really, really good!
There is also a Stumptown Coffee attached to the hotel and lots of food carts nearby.

We also stayed at The Nines hotel downtown for 3 nights on arrival in Portland and though it is a great hotel in it's own way ...very sleek, modern, and sterile. The Ace is real Portland earthy, retro, and urban hip. If I am completely honest with myself I prefer The Ace in all it's cool vibe quirkiness and I really look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are really cool, some more quiet than others which you can choose at booking. Street views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlas1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Lovely staff, very warm service. Really like the deco from lobby to room.... no the usual kind of a standard hotel. Very comfy and cannot ask for more. First time stayed in a shared room, meaning bathroom and toilet facilities is shared; not too bad at least its neat and tidy! I don't mind to stay here again!

Room Tip: Don't go for a shared room type if you are psychologically prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wong_Percie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#12 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#41 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel Portland

Property: Ace Hotel Portland
Address: 1022 SW Stark St, Portland, OR 97205-2610
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ace Hotel Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, urbanized version of the welcoming country inn along a country lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ace Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing