We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great way to kickoff our visit!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portland Walking Tours

Portland Walking Tours
Book In Advance
Book a Tour
Ranked #11 of 96 Tours in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Portland Walking Tours’ fun and award-winning events explore the excitement, history, food, architecture, neighborhoods, bridges, parks, fountains, artwork, and just plain weird places in Portland Oregon. Tours include the award-winning “Best of Portland,” showcasing what makes Portland such a fabulous place to live and visit (daily, 10 AM and 2 PM); our scandalous “Underground Portland,” aka "the worst of Portland," revealing both the physical and metaphorical subterranean story of Portland's sordid past; the eerie “Beyond Bizarre”, a hands-on exploration of Portland's paranormal, using real ghost-hunting equipment as seen on shows like "Ghost Adventurer" (TM) and "Paranormal State" (TM); our delicious “Epicurean Excursion” walking tour, a tasty immersion into Portland's amazing culinary "slow food" scene; our indulgent “Chocolate Decadence Tour," exploring and sampling chocolate in its many solid and liquid forms, from bean to bar and everything in between; "Roses Gone Wild!", which dishes the dirt on Portland's famous International Rose Test Gardens; and "Flavor Street," where you taste the best of Portland's incredible food cart scene - and skip the rest.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great way to kickoff our visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Eric was our guide for the Best of Portland Walking Tour. He was personable, informative and kept the group engaged throughout the whole tour. Not only did he explain the history behind each landmark he showed us, he also helped us understand Portland's identity and core cultures. We couldn't have started off our trip any better!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dondeestaelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    196
    45
    24
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Get to know your home town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved this tour! We are "home grown" and learned a lot about the history of downtown Portland. Start up town and end at the waterfront - just in time for lunch at the VQ restaurant. It is a easy stroll through town- would do it again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dlundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Flavor Street Food Cart Tour-- Excellent Tour and Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I had a great time with our tour guide Adam on this casual and delicious tour of the famous Portland food cart scene. We toured three different food cart pods with nine different carts in total. We ate a variety of foods-- dumplings, tacos, bratwurst, a to-die-for pastrami sandwich, Korean-Mexican fusion, soups, falafel, and a little Paleo-friendly dessert at the end. Adam was entertaining and informative and the walking pace and distance (about a mile) was easy to handle (even after eating continuously for an hour and a half!).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jjmart90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent tour and outstanding tour guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Took the Best of Portland at 10 am today and learned lots about Portland from David, our tour guide. Well worth the time and money.
David was very knowledgeable about urban planning, design and history of the city which we found very interesting. Highly recommend this interesting tour and hope you get a guide as good as David!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Becky60956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Richard was a great tour guide!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband I thoroughly enjoyed our tour with Richard. He was a great guide with wonderful personal stories. It was obvious that he enjoyed his job so it was fun for us. This gave us a historical and cultural context of Portland. I would have enjoyed a bit more walking but I recommend this tour for sure!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Queenster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portland Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Portland Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing