We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoy eating here”

Wong's King Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #513 of 4,276 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“We enjoy eating here”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We enjoy coming to this restaurant for their fishmaw soup, lobsters, peking duck, salt and pepper crab, and a new favorite.... salt and pepper pork chops. The place is always busy on weekends. So, come in early. And when they do get busy, expect a little drop in service.... but it's all good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jetters888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    44
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
226 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Popular Chinese Seafood Restaurant”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This continues to be one of the better seafood restaurants in the Portland area. Never disappointed but for the wait time and price. Great cuisine and ambiance.

Suggest you call for reservations since the wait time can be anywhere from 30 minutes to not available due to being sold out for private parties.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaPheonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, WA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We don't get to Portland very often, but when we do, Wong's King is on our lunch plan.

Between 11 and about 2, the Dim Sum carts are freshest and the place is usually pretty full. If you go on a weekend, there is always a LONG wait for a seat.

We have found that the offerings here range from the simple Shumai for the "Gringo" palate to the more exotic "Build a Farm" parts ... chicken feet, beef tendon, pork stomach, beef tripe, etc. for those searching for the more traditional flavors.

The oddest sounding stuff tastes the best and we loved it all.

We did get something new this visit ... steamed snow pea TOPS. While we thought we were just ordering the snow peas (communication can be a little tough for those of us that don't speak Chinese), the plate they brought out were vines and leaves. Turns out it was good! Who knew!

This place is always clean and the service is very good. Our water glasses were never left empty and we just had to tip up the top of our tea pot to get it refilled.

Good atmosphere, great prices, excellent Dim Sum ... who could ask for more!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
265 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Delicious Din Sum”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We search for a good dim sum restaurant around Portland and Wong has great reviews so we went and were not disappointed. It was delicious, fresh and nicely price.

Helpful?
Thank Sandyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dim Sum Yum”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

First time for dim sum most of it was delicious. Pot stickers were very cold and the wrappers way too thick. We ordered Orange Chicken it was tender and delicious, Also Yakisoba noodles had that nice seasoned wok flavor. Absolutely loved loved loved the salted pepper calamari cooked to perfection. Will go back for dinner for sure the menu looked fabulous.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vonfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wong's King Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wong's King Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing