We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Ranked #20 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I was worried that we would be too far away from all the "cool" stuff we wanted to do in the Portland area, but quickly found that this hotel was centrally located to everything and offered a quick trip back to the airport when it was time to leave. The TriMet light rail system was only a couple of blocks away.

The room (#140) was a spacious smoking room, as requested. They could stand to spray some Febreze around, but if you want a smoking room you sometimes have to make allowances. Other than that, the room was very clean and well kept. The bed was very comfy.

The bathroom had a nice vanity with plenty of room for all the junk I bring with me on vacation. The shower head was nice and high - good for taller people.

The free breakfast was pretty good, featuring make-your-own waffles (fresh!), sausages, omelets, cereals, and a variety of coffees and teas. There are also free cookies at the front desk in the afternoon.

The in-room coffee makers were the one-cup type, but when we asked for a 4-cup, they gladly provided it.

The only thing I can really criticize is that the pool and hot tub were a little dingy. Not dirty, but in need of some refurbishment.

This hotel has a great staff that goes out of their way to make you happy. We definitely will be back!

Room Tip: An inner courtyard or balcony room will be your best bet to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Capthook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    326
    78
    34
    14
See reviews for
313
336
85
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

convenient to and from Portland airport, car rental facilities, and gas station across the street to fill up your rental before returning. - staff is very friendly and helpful. - room and bedding is in great condition, and house cleaning replenishes towels and bath supplies daily. - free continental breakfast is decent to help start your day. - they provide complimentary shuttle service to the car rental facility and airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ernest P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, Ca., United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Pony Soldier is a good 7 miles from downtown and the "hub" of Portland, but it makes up for that with proximity to light rail and PDX. This is a nice property with a FIRST RATE staff! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I always stay here when in Portland. The location is convenient to the airport and not far from downtown. I like the way their buffet is stocked and presented. And, their prices are reasonable. I am on the road probably 75% of the time and stay in a lot of hotels. This is one of best values in the US.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at the great locaton for this hotel, even though we didn't need to be near the airport. The train into town was very close so we didn't have to drive and fight traffic to get to most of the places we visited. I would suggest a room facing the courtyard as the hotel is located on a busy street and near the freeway, Our room faced the courtyard and was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was great with lots of choices. Very nice pool and whirlpool. Front desk sfaff were very nice and really helpful. My husband and I enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunworshiper54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at the great location of this hotel, the value for our money and the amenities. We were within walking distance to the train that took us all the way to Washington Park./Oregon Zoo, downtown Portland etc. so didn't have to drive our car and fight traffic. Great breakfast including waffles and a good selection of cereals, eggs, sausage, breads and bagels. The pool and whirlpool were very nice. I would suggest you choose a room facing the pool as it was very quiet and didn't hear the traffic even though hotel is located on a busy street near the freeway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Friendly front desk staff was there to greet us. We immediately were provided a room facing the center courtyard. The room was large and clean providing a restful place to stay prior to our morning flight back home. Being a five minute drive to the airport was important to us so it would be hassle free getting to the car rental in the morning rush hour. Would definitely stay here again when needing a place to stay when arriving or leaving from the Portland Airport.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
6.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
1.0 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport

Property: Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Address: 9901 Northeast Sandy Blvd., Portland, OR 97220-3323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#4 Spa Hotel in Portland
#16 Family Hotel in Portland
#19 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western® Pony Soldier Inn - Airport! Many guests at our Portland hotel are corporate travelers looking to take advantage of our great proximity to the airport, light rail and downtown. MAX, Portland's light rail system whisks guests directly into the heart of downtown. We’re close to major freeways and the airport, so catching early morning flights or day trips around the Great Northwest are both possible. We're known for our stellar customer service, and the outdoor seasonal pool and year-round hot tub are perfect for relaxing. However, make sure you start every morning right with a full, free hot breakfast featuring waffles, fruits, cereal and coffee. Our location, just two miles from the airport, makes us an easy choice for frequent flyers. Our Portland hotel is a short drive from the beautiful landscaping of The Grotto, and boating on the Columbia River is a real treat. Whether you’re in town for the legendary Rose Festival or touring the Columbia River Gorge, the location of our property makes it easy to get around the region. Mount Hood, the Oregon Coast and some of the best dining in the northwest is all a short drive away. Duck into Voodoo Doughnuts 24/7 for a sweet treat like no other, or visit the country's smallest park. The friendliness of our staff and cleanliness of the guest rooms make you feel right at home. We're located near I-205 and I-84 West and East for your convenience. Just across the river from Vancouver, Washington, the Portland Airport hotel is unlike any other in the country and nestled close to all the top attractions. Business travelers with Concordia University, Altec® Corporation, Grocery Outlet and Boeing and Honda Factories often stay at our Portland hotel. Visit the Rose Garden for incredible views or take in a Portland Trailblazer's game at the Moda center. The Pearl District is a must for nightlife, and NW 23rd is a requisite for shoppers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn-Airport Hotel Portland
Best Western Portland
Portland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing