We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel....exceptional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a total of 3 nights....2 nights after we flew in and 1 more the night before we flew out. The location as it relates to the airport and several of the rental car places can't be beat. It also has immediate access to one of the main highways through Portland. We found the hotel to be very well run by a truly exceptional and exceptionally friendly staff. Everyone from the front desk clerks to the shuttle bus driver were fantastic! The rooms were nice also. There is a pretty nice restaurant right next door and a REALLY good Mexican restaurant a couple of blocks down the street (El Sombrero Tapatio) which was recommended by the girls at the front desk. The next time we fly into Portland this is where we will be staying.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zarkstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

914 - 920 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

There are not pictures on line of the rooms in this hotel but the rooms are nice. The only problem we had was that the air conditioner was not working. Once reported they moved us to another room. Beds are very comfortable

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank ysherbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

In a very seedy area. Cop cars all over the place, homeless folks looking for their night time resting place... Up to you whether or not you want to stay here but I won't again. Don't know why the high ratings. However I have stayed at another different pony soldier best western in sandy and it was fine. I wonder if others have confused with this one.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LoneOak6496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We only initially signed up for a two night stay in case we didn't like it here, but ended up staying all six nights we spent in Portland. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The breakfast was about average for a moderately priced hotel, but more than enough to satisfy our needs.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that opens to the pool side; otherwise you will have a view of a busy road & p...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pensacola_FLYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a group. The staff were very friendly and the lobby but great for visiting with our party. Several nice restaurants nearby, including Elmer's next door and an Indian buffet up the road named Namaste.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Colleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Great, this is how we all want to be treated. From before we checked in, and until we checked out. The service we received on the phone making a reservation, to check in. Our entire stay every need day or night, was excellence. I really can't wait to return. I wish all hotels were like this one. Thank You, again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel on September 4th, 2013 and it was lovely! I live on the Oregon coast, so I wanted to feel rested before I left on my trip for my daughter's wedding & I could not have picked a better place! I am a single woman, traveling alone and when I made the reservation on the phone the front desk person said she would make sure I was in a courtyard room so I would feel safe and they did put me in a room near the lobby and I felt very safe. The front desk people at check in were so nice. The room was beautiful & clean, the patio was very nice as well. My flight left very early the next morning and Sue Ann drove me to the airport. We had a great conversation on the way and even though it was a short ride, I felt like I had a new friend! Sue Ann is a wonderful, cheerful, lovely person-hard to be all that when it's 4:00 in the morning! They kept my car at the hotel while I was gone as well. On my return, I called the number they had given me and very quickly, their shuttle arrived to get me. Amit was the driver this time and he was very pleasant and we had a nice conversation as well. I would stay here again just based on the staff. Lovely staff, Lovely property! Thank you, Kristin Love

Room Tip: Just state your preferences and I am sure you will be accommodated to the best of their ability!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klove2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
6.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
1.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport

Address: 9901 Northeast Sandy Blvd., Portland, OR 97220-3323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#5 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#16 Family Hotel in Portland
#19 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £100 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western® Pony Soldier Inn - Airport! Many guests at our Portland hotel are corporate travelers looking to take advantage of our great proximity to the airport, light rail and downtown. MAX, Portland's light rail system whisks guests directly into the heart of downtown. We’re close to major freeways and the airport, so catching early morning flights or day trips around the Great Northwest are both possible. We're known for our stellar customer service, and the outdoor seasonal pool and year-round hot tub are perfect for relaxing. However, make sure you start every morning right with a full, free hot breakfast featuring waffles, fruits, cereal and coffee. Our location, just two miles from the airport, makes us an easy choice for frequent flyers. Our Portland hotel is a short drive from the beautiful landscaping of The Grotto, and boating on the Columbia River is a real treat. Whether you’re in town for the legendary Rose Festival or touring the Columbia River Gorge, the location of our property makes it easy to get around the region. Mount Hood, the Oregon Coast and some of the best dining in the northwest is all a short drive away. Duck into Voodoo Doughnuts 24/7 for a sweet treat like no other, or visit the country's smallest park. The friendliness of our staff and cleanliness of the guest rooms make you feel right at home. We're located near I-205 and I-84 West and East for your convenience. Just across the river from Vancouver, Washington, the Portland Airport hotel is unlike any other in the country and nestled close to all the top attractions. Business travelers with Concordia University, Altec® Corporation, Grocery Outlet and Boeing and Honda Factories often stay at our Portland hotel. Visit the Rose Garden for incredible views or take in a Portland Trailblazer's game at the Moda center. The Pearl District is a must for nightlife, and NW 23rd is a requisite for shoppers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn-Airport Hotel Portland
Best Western Portland
Portland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing