We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place Near Airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Ranked #21 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Place Near Airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We've stayed in numerous places in Portland. This is not in the middle of the hustle and bustle, and the neighborhood is pretty suspect (meaning, Im not going to walk the streets after sundown), but for my purposes during this trip it suited just fine. Its not a "walkable" hotel, so if you stay here, rent a car and get a GPS, so you can actually see what Portland has to offer. The hotel itself was clean, and comfortable. The pool and hot tub was out of service when I visited, but since it was freezing cold, I didn't mind. Breakfast was standard microwaveable fare, and a waffle iron, which is always nice. Rooms were spacious, and many have balconies, and kitchenettes. My only room complaint are the beds were extremely uncomfortable. Like sleeping on boulders, wrapped in cotton. Plenty of free parking, which is nice in the big city. All in all, not a bad stay, and got the job done.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abbyjcpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    318
    74
    33
    14
See reviews for
304
328
83
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. Great accommodations and wonderful breakfast. Stayed two nights with six other family members from Texas and California. Wonderful hotel at which to meet. We had plenty of room in which to enjoy each others company.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Have stayed in a number of Best Westerns in the US and this has been the best so far. Location close to the airport is great and with a rental getting around was no problem. The staff were friendly and facilities were excellent. The breakfast was just right.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandFlyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

A little over 5 minutes from airport rental cars and about 20 from downtown (depending on traffic). We had a midweek stay and they were very flexible by allowing a 10 a.m. check-in and 1 p.m. check-out. The (king, ex suite) room had a nice layout, microwave and fridge. Unfortunately, there was no mini-freezer in the fridge (for my Haagen-Dazs, so I had to eat it all in one sitting - bummer). It was also interesting to have the TV to the side instead of at the foot of the bed - not as bad as I would have thought. Our upstairs, interior-facing room was very quiet and we only heard an occasional (night) train due to our opening the windows for the fresh air.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo OR, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

It was a most pleasant experience staying at this hotel near trhe airport. I had an early morning flight at 5:30am and appreciated the complimentary shuttle to the airport by 3:30am. The shuttle driver was serving as the desk clerk, so couldn't leave to shuttle me to the airport. The hotel provided a complimentary Taxi instead to make sure I made by flight in plenty of time. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Vivian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This Best Western is well located, near the PDX airport, freeways, TriMet bus lines. Staff and services were quite good. I have stayed at this hotel two or three times earlier, over a three year period and pleased each time. My rooms have always been fine and well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Excellent hotel with outstanding amenities. Staff is friendly and professional. Breakfast was wonderful with plenty of variety. Very warm and comfortable foyer with step down sitting area to relax in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Roberta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
6.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport

Property: BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Address: 9901 Northeast Sandy Blvd., Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#5 Spa Hotel in Portland
#16 Family Hotel in Portland
#19 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western® Pony Soldier Inn - Airport! Many guests at our Portland hotel are corporate travelers looking to take advantage of our great proximity to the airport, light rail and downtown. MAX, Portland's light rail system whisks guests directly into the heart of downtown. We’re close to major freeways and the airport, so catching early morning flights or day trips around the Great Northwest are both possible. We're known for our stellar customer service, and the outdoor seasonal pool and year-round hot tub are perfect for relaxing. However, make sure you start every morning right with a full, free hot breakfast featuring waffles, fruits, cereal and coffee. Our location, just two miles from the airport, makes us an easy choice for frequent flyers. Our Portland hotel is a short drive from the beautiful landscaping of The Grotto, and boating on the Columbia River is a real treat. Whether you’re in town for the legendary Rose Festival or touring the Columbia River Gorge, the location of our property makes it easy to get around the region. Mount Hood, the Oregon Coast and some of the best dining in the northwest is all a short drive away. Duck into Voodoo Doughnuts 24/7 for a sweet treat like no other, or visit the country's smallest park. The friendliness of our staff and cleanliness of the guest rooms make you feel right at home. We're located near I-205 and I-84 West and East for your convenience. Just across the river from Vancouver, Washington, the Portland Airport hotel is unlike any other in the country and nestled close to all the top attractions. Business travelers with Concordia University, Altec® Corporation, Grocery Outlet and Boeing and Honda Factories often stay at our Portland hotel. Visit the Rose Garden for incredible views or take in a Portland Trailblazer's game at the Moda center. The Pearl District is a must for nightlife, and NW 23rd is a requisite for shoppers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn-Airport Hotel Portland
Best Western Portland
Portland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing