We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Ranked #18 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is not downtown but is close to the airport with shuttle service thereto. There is a light rail service within several blocks to downtown in about 1/2 hour. The hotel is also located right off I 205 freeway, giving easy access off and on the freeway. The staff was quite helpful, the computer in lobby was easily accessed, the breakfast was tasty, and hot coffee, cider, and tea were available in the lobby. Elmer's restaurant was located right next door with a tasty lunch menu. The room was spacious with a nice bathroom and a comfortable bed. If you want a reasonable hotel with good amenities and don't need to be right downtown, this is a good alternative.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyTraveler4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

824 - 830 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We arrived late and needed a good quick restaurant. Staff was extremely helpful and sugested a nearby restaurant. We stayed again 2 weeks later and staff was still great. breakfast was included and saved us trying to find a local place Great location near airport, and they have an airport shuttle

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The moment we got to the property, we were discouraged because of how outdated it was. We got into our room and did not even want to put our bags down anywhere on the floor. As we were checking the room out, we found ants on the table. On the upside, the staff was very accomodating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
4  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the BW Pony Soldier on the last night of our 10 day Oregon/Washington trip. Everything about the hotel exceeded our expectations. The hotel was sparkling clean and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. Would highly recommend Pony Soldier!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank thomascL3301BD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Skip this one until it gets a complete over haul! Smelled of smoke, problems with the ventilation [unfix-able] The staff were very nice and the location is GREAT! But for the money it was not as I expect a Best Western to be.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Best Western. The location was convenient t to access the freeway and to get to the airport. The room was quiet and clean.The staff was helpful and very friendly. Breakfast was available early and cookies for the afternoon snack were delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kayntida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have been happier with the stay. The price was middle of the road, but the comfort level was above average. It wasn't perfect, but close enough to be a good place to stay in Portland. We stayed several days and always looked forward to returning to the room each evening. Room towards the pool is the way to go. Hardly any noise.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pfrenyea72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Portland International Airport, OR
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#22 of 146 in Portland
536 reviews
1 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport

Address: 9901 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-3323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#5 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#19 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £70 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western® Pony Soldier Inn - Airport! Many guests at our Portland hotel are corporate travelers looking to take advantage of our great proximity to the airport, light rail and downtown. MAX, Portland's light rail system whisks guests directly into the heart of downtown. We’re close to major freeways and the airport, so catching early morning flights or day trips around the Great Northwest are both possible. We're known for our stellar customer service, and the outdoor seasonal pool and year-round hot tub are perfect for relaxing. However, make sure you start every morning right with a full, free hot breakfast featuring waffles, fruits, cereal and coffee. Our location, just two miles from the airport, makes us an easy choice for frequent flyers. Our Portland hotel is a short drive from the beautiful landscaping of The Grotto, and boating on the Columbia River is a real treat. Whether you’re in town for the legendary Rose Festival or touring the Columbia River Gorge, the location of our property makes it easy to get around the region. Mount Hood, the Oregon Coast and some of the best dining in the northwest is all a short drive away. Duck into Voodoo Doughnuts 24/7 for a sweet treat like no other, or visit the country's smallest park. The friendliness of our staff and cleanliness of the guest rooms make you feel right at home. We're located near I-205 and I-84 West and East for your convenience. Just across the river from Vancouver, Washington, the Portland Airport hotel is unlike any other in the country and nestled close to all the top attractions. Business travelers with Concordia University, Altec® Corporation, Grocery Outlet and Boeing and Honda Factories often stay at our Portland hotel. Visit the Rose Garden for incredible views or take in a Portland Trailblazer's game at the Moda center. The Pearl District is a must for nightlife, and NW 23rd is a requisite for shoppers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn-Airport Hotel Portland
Best Western Portland
Portland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing