We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A New Favorite in Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Ranked #18 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A New Favorite in Portland”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the Airport Pony Soldier Inn recently for a high school reunion. Very convenient just off the I205 near the airport. Convenient to Portland's Hollywood and Hawthorne districts. Were delighted with their pool which is in an inner courtyard of the hotel. The neighborhood is a little industrial but was still okay for walking. My only drawback was the breakfast which had everything but the fruit mixed with gluten. Even the breakfast meat - chicken fried steak cutlets. Unfortunately I don't do gluten - oh well there is a Whole Foods Market 10 minutes away. We will stay there on future visits.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the executive king which has a balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryS58687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    350
    87
    35
    14
See reviews for
355
363
90
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Conveniently located near the airport and right off the I-205. Nice hotel, very pleasant service with a a good breakfast that included eggs, sausage and hash browns.. Good for a one or two night stay, especially if you are in transit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionroar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Shasta, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stay at this hotel every time we are in the Portland area. The rooms are always clean, nicely decorated, beds are comfortable, staff is very friendly and helpful. We have never had a problem that couldn't be solved quickly and efficiently.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordova, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

When you enter the hotel lobby you are immediately hit with the smell of stale perspiration that follows you down the hall and into the room. There is a sign at the front desk stating that the bathrooms were being renovated but the entire building is in need of a renovation.
You can see at one time this was a nice hotel but those days have past. I did NOT find value for my money, in fact this it was the most expensive, while being the most rundown, hotel we stayed on our trip. The outside pool was nice but it is not heated so you won't be in it for long. Hot tub nice also but only use the lobby entrance to the pool or you will be locked out. Will not stay here again.


The big outside pool is a bit chilly but the large hot tub heats you back up in no time.







Stayed July 2014, traveled with family

Room Tip: The rooms poolside are nicer but probably more $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This has been the best hotel stay I have had in a long time. Friendly and knowledgeable staff with clean and comfortable rooms along with a tasty breakfast. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family if they are ever in the Portland. Thank you for a wonderful stay during a very special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Excellent hotel, near airport, but quiet and clean. Wonderful and accommodating friendly and helpful staff. Staff also appears well motivated. Great complementary breakfast. We were in Portland for an organized gathering the week before and then took side trips for two days before returning to be near the airport for the last night. Wish we had stayed there for the entire stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Staying several times in Portland now and comparing to other hotels we slept... this is great!
Entering the hotel (after their airportshuttle service) they welcome you very, very friendly. Not just " because they have to" (or somthing in that direction). No, they really want to satisfy your stay...They'll do anything to make your day. They are excellent.
The room was very clean and comfortabel, the breakfast is very much all of what you want.
Yes, I can recommend this place...comparing it with the other BW in town this is much better!! For people that know BW Plus. This should be one.
And yes there is a renovation now, but that kind of things happen..and I think will make it even better!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washingtongeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
6.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport

Property: Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Address: 9901 Northeast Sandy Blvd., Portland, OR 97220-3323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#5 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#16 Family Hotel in Portland
#19 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western® Pony Soldier Inn - Airport! Many guests at our Portland hotel are corporate travelers looking to take advantage of our great proximity to the airport, light rail and downtown. MAX, Portland's light rail system whisks guests directly into the heart of downtown. We’re close to major freeways and the airport, so catching early morning flights or day trips around the Great Northwest are both possible. We're known for our stellar customer service, and the outdoor seasonal pool and year-round hot tub are perfect for relaxing. However, make sure you start every morning right with a full, free hot breakfast featuring waffles, fruits, cereal and coffee. Our location, just two miles from the airport, makes us an easy choice for frequent flyers. Our Portland hotel is a short drive from the beautiful landscaping of The Grotto, and boating on the Columbia River is a real treat. Whether you’re in town for the legendary Rose Festival or touring the Columbia River Gorge, the location of our property makes it easy to get around the region. Mount Hood, the Oregon Coast and some of the best dining in the northwest is all a short drive away. Duck into Voodoo Doughnuts 24/7 for a sweet treat like no other, or visit the country's smallest park. The friendliness of our staff and cleanliness of the guest rooms make you feel right at home. We're located near I-205 and I-84 West and East for your convenience. Just across the river from Vancouver, Washington, the Portland Airport hotel is unlike any other in the country and nestled close to all the top attractions. Business travelers with Concordia University, Altec® Corporation, Grocery Outlet and Boeing and Honda Factories often stay at our Portland hotel. Visit the Rose Garden for incredible views or take in a Portland Trailblazer's game at the Moda center. The Pearl District is a must for nightlife, and NW 23rd is a requisite for shoppers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn-Airport Hotel Portland
Best Western Portland
Portland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing