We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was a big clean room with nice proximity to the pool. Quiet and classy. The bed was comfortable and the room overall was very clean. they served a mystery meat for breakfast that surprised me, but overall it was a great room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

750 - 756 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were quoted one price on the phone and when we got there late at night we were told that prices was not correct. They charged us an EXTRA $75. It was too late at night for us to change hotels and they took advantage of that fact.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
4  Thank KGB3lockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Lobby, pool and breakfast areas are all nice. I was in a suite. Nice sized room, but oddly shaped. Microwave, fridge and sink in the room. In the cupboards there were plates, cups, silverware and paper towels. Very nice touch for a traveler tired of eating out. Overall room was nice, clean and comfortable.

My room was right next to the freeway on ramp. Can definitely hear commute traffic, but was somewhat calm over night. Bring ear plugs if you're sensitive

Breakfast was ok. Nothing fancy. Very simple. A few hot items. Eggs, sausages, tater tots. Probably from Costco, but ok. Cut up fruit mix. Selection of bread for toast. Pastries. Coffee, juice. Probably a few other things I missed since I didn't have them. Overall nice selection and presentation. Didn't leave hungry or disappointed.

I felt very safe at the hotel and in the parking lot. There's not much within walking distance. The neighborhood felt a bit sketchy. I like to take a walk and explore the area when I travel, I didn't feel comfortable taking a walk in this area. A gas station/convenience store across the street. A decent diner next door.

I did have dinner at the diner next door. OK place. Similar to Denny's, etc. I'd recommend it

Wifi was very slow during the busy evening hours. Very little bandwidth.

Luckily I my room was not near the RV park. I checked out the view and it's definitely a downer view. For a business traveler, any room, except the rooms overlooking the RV Park should be fine. For a leisure traveler, try and get a room overlooking the pool/courtyard. It will make for a more relaxing trip.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with a view of the RV park.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 415Cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We didn't have super high expectations, but we're pleasantly surprised at the friendly service and comfy rooms at the Best Western Pony Soldier Inn. It's convenient to the MAX red line which can take you between the airport and downtown Portland. The buffet breakfast has a good variety, and the rooms are adequately furnished for a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the front of the building are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This motel provided a very comfortable setting for me and the staff was great. They provide a free washer and dryer, and the breakfast was very good. Staff at the front desk and breakfast area were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Only stayed one night this time but will stay again whenever-- Have enjoyed visiting Portland for many years and often stay at BW Pony Soldier. and will again, if fate permits. Love the welcoming lobby area and the outdoors pool area. Is this 200 characters yet?

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Myrna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the Airport Pony Soldier Inn recently for a high school reunion. Very convenient just off the I205 near the airport. Convenient to Portland's Hollywood and Hawthorne districts. Were delighted with their pool which is in an inner courtyard of the hotel. The neighborhood is a little industrial but was still okay for walking. My only drawback was the breakfast which had everything but the fruit mixed with gluten. Even the breakfast meat - chicken fried steak cutlets. Unfortunately I don't do gluten - oh well there is a Whole Foods Market 10 minutes away. We will stay there on future visits.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the executive king which has a balcony overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JerryS58687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
6.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
1.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport

Address: 9901 Northeast Sandy Blvd., Portland, OR 97220-3323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#6 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#16 Family Hotel in Portland
#19 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £101 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western® Pony Soldier Inn - Airport! Many guests at our Portland hotel are corporate travelers looking to take advantage of our great proximity to the airport, light rail and downtown. MAX, Portland's light rail system whisks guests directly into the heart of downtown. We’re close to major freeways and the airport, so catching early morning flights or day trips around the Great Northwest are both possible. We're known for our stellar customer service, and the outdoor seasonal pool and year-round hot tub are perfect for relaxing. However, make sure you start every morning right with a full, free hot breakfast featuring waffles, fruits, cereal and coffee. Our location, just two miles from the airport, makes us an easy choice for frequent flyers. Our Portland hotel is a short drive from the beautiful landscaping of The Grotto, and boating on the Columbia River is a real treat. Whether you’re in town for the legendary Rose Festival or touring the Columbia River Gorge, the location of our property makes it easy to get around the region. Mount Hood, the Oregon Coast and some of the best dining in the northwest is all a short drive away. Duck into Voodoo Doughnuts 24/7 for a sweet treat like no other, or visit the country's smallest park. The friendliness of our staff and cleanliness of the guest rooms make you feel right at home. We're located near I-205 and I-84 West and East for your convenience. Just across the river from Vancouver, Washington, the Portland Airport hotel is unlike any other in the country and nestled close to all the top attractions. Business travelers with Concordia University, Altec® Corporation, Grocery Outlet and Boeing and Honda Factories often stay at our Portland hotel. Visit the Rose Garden for incredible views or take in a Portland Trailblazer's game at the Moda center. The Pearl District is a must for nightlife, and NW 23rd is a requisite for shoppers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn-Airport Hotel Portland
Best Western Portland
Portland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing